Date: September 06, 2015
Author: Golf Victoria

Linley and Joel take out Kooringal Junior Championships

Clear and calm conditions welcomed players upon registration at the 2015 Kooringal Junior Tournament. However these conditions changed dramatically as the groups approached their starting holes. 96 juniors battled tricky and blustery conditions all day making even the shortest of shots seem tough.

Despite the conditions we did see a number of impressive scores and some spectacular shot making which included a 170 metre fairway wood by Linley Ooi which sailed over towering gum trees in the near dark and landed within 15 feet to seal the Girls Championship. Joel Mitchell the Boys Champion also played some solid golf in testing conditions where par on any hole was as good as a birdie. Joel blitzed the front nine making back to back birdies on 1 & 2 and finishing with an even par 36 on the front nine. An outward 40 on the back would see Joel take the championship by 2 shots.  

The overall Boys Nett Champion, Jack Nibbs from Kooringal Golf Club, impressed with a finishing 67, as did Imogen Jones from Royal Melbourne Golf Club taking out the Girls Nett Championship with a 72. In the Stableford division we saw Aaron Binyon from Kingston Heath Golf Club take the boys trophy with 36 points and Kayli Schenk from Northern Golf Club take the girls trophy with 44 points. Amongst the field we also had 15 rookie players competing over a shortened modified course, with all players astonishing us with such talent at a tender young age.

In conjunction with the Kooringal Junior Tournament, School Sport Victoria were holding selection trials for the 12 years and under Victorian State Team, with the leading 8 boys and 4 girls selected to represent Victoria at the National Championships in early November. This team includes the following players;

Selected Boys

Nathan Page (Northern Golf Club)
Matty Ahmatoglu (Southern Golf Club)
Luke Polson (Ballarat Golf Club)
Thomas Farmakis (Commonwealth Golf Club)
Ayden Johnston (Waverley Golf Club)
Sang Jun Lee (Huntingdale Golf Club)
Harvey Young (Melton Valley Golf Club)
Abel Eduard (Eastern Golf Club)

Reserve 1 Ayran Sharma (Woodlands Golf Club)
Reserve 2 Izak Uy (Kooringal Golf Club)

Selected Girls

Piper Stubbs (Waverley Golf Club)
Keeley Marx (The Heritage Golf Club)
Jeneath Wong (Huntingdale Golf Club)
Jade Brooks (Waverley Golf Club)

Reserve 1 Sara Jade Hidayat  (Victoria Golf Club)
Reserve 2 Claudia Rubstov (Victoria Golf Club)