Date: April 08, 2014

Local stars set to do battle

A star studded field of Tasmanian team members will lead the challenges of their respective area associations and regions this weekend. Claremont Golf Club will host the 2014 James Boag Thyne Trophy and Kirin Cider North vs South Plate. The Thyne Trophy is a round robin match-play tournament for men with each of Tasmania s four Area Associations represented. While the annual women’s North vs South Plate will see the two regions battle it out in foursomes and singles match-play. Each team in the Thyne Trophy competition is comprised of eight members, however, a contest between two teams is determined by seven singles matches. Favourites to take out this year s Thyne Trophy at Claremont are the boys from the Southern Metropolitan Golf Association. The Metro boys are skippered by current Tasmanian amateur champion and Tasmania Golf Club member Mark Schulze. Schuzle s squad this year includes the likes of Nathan Gatehouse of Kingston Beach and Tasmania Golf Club’s in-form competitor Andrew Phillips. Golf Tasmania North is expected to perform strongly and will be captained by Mowbray golfer John Cassidy. The Northern line-up includes 2012 Tasmanian Amateur runner-up Cameron Bell and Mitch Van Noord of Launceston and Mowbray Golf Club’s James Pyke. The Northern gents will be defending their title last won last year at the Greens Beach Golf Club. Golf North West boasts a talented side led by Captain/Manager and Devonport Golf Club member Greg Leedham. Youngsters Cameron Allen and Ben Lewtas from the Ulverstone Golf Club are both expected to perform well based on current form. Players from the Southern Country Association include Drew Roberts from Llanherne and former State Colts Captain Dijon Barrett from the Elderslie Golf Club. The Southern Country Golf Association has been taking part in the competition since the event was modified in 1999 and claimed its first victory in 2012 jointly with the Southern Metropolitan Association. The North versus South Plate will be a keenly contested event with the North out to retain the plate won last year at Exeter. The North will be represented by the likes of Tammy Hall of Launceston, Tayla Bennett of Mowbray, Sharon Crowden from Port Sorell and Riverside s Amanda Smith. Elderslie s Karen Calvert, Jane Hyland of Kingston Beach, Tea Tree s Kalynda Cowen and Tasmania Golf Club’s Georgia Milbourne will lead the Southern charge. The James Boag Thyne Trophy and Kirin Cider North vs South events will be played on Saturday 12 and Sunday 13 April. GOLF NORTH WEST: Cameron Allen (Ulverstone), Aaron Dobson (Burnie), Greg Leedham-Captain/Manager (Devonport), Ben Lewtas (Ulverstone), Peter Nielsen (Devonport) and Aidan Withers (Burnie). GOLF TASMANIA NORTH: Cameron Bell (Launceston), John Cassidy-Captain (Mowbray), David House (Riverside), Andrew McCarthy (Riverside), Matthew Marston (Launceston), Isaac Pinnington (Riverside), James Pyke (Mowbray), Mitch Van Noord (Launceston) and Martin Brown-Manager (Launceston). SOUTHERN COUNTRY: Dijon Barrett (Elderslie), Luke Bricknell (Richmond), Matthew Cross (Elderslie), Jon Ramsden (Huon Valley), Drew Roberts-Captain (Llanherne), Roger Styles (Llanherne), Luke Tumney (North West Bay), William Wellington (Huon Valley) and David Marshall-Manager (Llanherne). SOUTHERN METROPOLITAN: Matthew Blackburn (Royal Hobart), Craig Christie (Tasmania), Nathan Gatehouse (Kingston Beach), Andrew Kamaric (Claremont), Brad Miller (Royal Hobart), Andrew Phillips (Tasmania), David Pretyman (Kingston Beach), Mark Schulze-Captain (Tasmania) and Bruce Kelly-Manager (Royal Hobart). NORTHERN WOMEN S TEAM: Tayla Bennett (Mowbray), Sharon Crowden (Port Sorell), Maree Fish (Mowbray), Sally Gibb (Launceston), Tammy Hall (Launceston), Deidre Panton (Launceston), Rosemary Paton-Manager (Ulverstone), Lu Proud (Devonport), Cheryl Richards (Mowbray) and Amanda Smith-Captain (Riverside). SOUTHERN WOMEN S TEAM: Lesley Bick (Tasmania), Karen Calvert (Elderslie), Pamela Chen (Royal Hobart), Kalynda Cowen (Tea Tree), Zibeth Daubenton (Royal Hobart), Sue Frith (Claremont), Jane Hyland (Kingston Beach), Georgia Milbourne (Tasmania), Chris McNab (Royal Hobart), Stephanie Sykora (Royal Hobart), Karen Bannister-Non-playing Captain (Royal Hobart) and Margaret Cormack-Manager (North West Bay). To download results from the 2014 James Boag Thyne Trophy please click here To download results from the 2014 Kirin Cider North vs South Plate please click here