Date: February 04, 2008

Lyle rockets to Mexico win

Australian golfer Jarrod Lyle has won his first ever title on the Nationwide Tour after cruising to a five-shot victory in the Mexico Open. Lyle started his final round tied for the lead with fellow Australian Greg Chalmers at nine-under-par, but after four birdies and an eagle on the opening nine, the championship was as good as over. A further two birdies on the back nine ensured Lyle had a comfortable victory at 17-under, with Chalmers enduring a horror back nine to finish in a tie for fifth place at eight-under. Chalmers was within two shots of Lyle as the pair strode to the 10th tee, but five bogeys in his final nine holes dropped the left-hander out of contention. American Matthew Every finished in outright second place at 12-under after a final round of 67, one shot clear of compatriot Tom Johnson who fired a 68. Michael Sim headed the other Australians, finishing in a tie for 16th place at two-under, while compatriot Andrew Buckle closed with an impressive round of 67 to be square with the card. Australians Aron Price and David Lutterus finished at two-over and three-over respectively, while New Zealander Grant Waite fired a final round of 73 to finish at nine-over.