Date: October 28, 2007

Mallorca Classic delayed once more

Robert-Jan Derksen holds a narrow one-stroke lead at the Mallorca Classic while Australia&aposs best performer so far has been Matthew Millar, some nine-strokes off the pace. After storms and persistent showers delayed the start of the third round until mid-morning on the Spanish Island, any hope of the third round concluding on schedule was dashed when players were forced to return to the clubhouse due to poor light. However, when play was suspended on Saturday evening, Derksen held a one-stroke lead at 10-under overall with three shots remaining to be played in his round. The Dutchman is closely trailed by third round playing partner Peter Lucquin, who shared the halfway lead with Derksen after two rounds. Lucquin could possibly have been even with Derksen as well, but dropped a shot on 15 before calling it a night and heading to the clubhouse. The two leaders, though, will come under pressure from Lucquin&aposs compatriot in Frenchman Gregory Bourdy, who produced the best completed round of the day, posting a six-under 64 to give himself a chance of winning this penultimate tournament on the European tour. For the Australians, Millar continues to lead the way despite posting a one-over 71 on Saturday. He is alongside compatriot Wade Ormsby, who carded a one-under 69 to be tied with Millar at one-under overall. Compatriot Peter O&aposMalley is two strokes behind at one-over on the leaderboard but is currently at two-under in his third round with two holes remaining. Further back in the field, Brett Rumford is at four-over having just made the cut on Saturday morning. Third round of the Mallorca Classic, Spain (Par 70): -10 Robert-Jan Derksen 66 65 (Hole 15) -9 Gregory Bourdy 69 68 64, Jean-Francois Lucquin 66 65 (Hole 15) -8 Peter Lawrie 66 68 (Hole 15), Sam Little 66 69 (Hole 15) -7 Richard Finch 68 69 66 -6 Alexander Noren 71 69 64 -5 Sergio Garcia 68 67 (Hole 17) -4 Thomas Bjorn 71 67 68, Mattias Eliasson 69 72 65, Marcel Siem 68 68 70, Carl Suneson 72 64 70 -3 Johan Edfors 68 71 68, Alastair Forsyth 68 69 70, Mark Foster 67 75 65, Robert Rock 69 68 70, Graeme Storm 67 73 67 also: -1 Matthew Millar (Australia) 71 67 71, Wade Ormsby (Australia) 70 70 69 +1 Peter O&aposMalley (Australia) 70 73 16 +4 Brett Rumford (Australia) 71 72 16