Date: December 09, 2008
Author: Steve Orme

Marquee groups announced

World No.11 Geoff Ogilvy will headline the morning action when the opening round of the Australian Open gets underway at Royal Sydney layout on Thursday. The Victorian, fresh from his maiden triumph on home soil at last week&aposs Australian PGA Championship, will partner 2006 Australian Open champion John Senden and American veteran Paul Goydos in the 7.30am tee time. 2005 champion Robert Allenby will partner American drawcard John Daly and popular Irishman Darren Clarke in the second marquee grouping ahead of young-gun Michael Sim, Brett Rumford and last year&aposs runner-up Won Joon Lee. The afternoon action is headed by US PGA Tour regulars Stuart Appleby and Adam Scott who will hit off alongside defending champion Craig Parry at 12.10pm. Peter Lonard, 2008 Australian Masters winner Rod Pampling and last week&aposs runner-up Mathew Goggin will follow Parry and co around the testing layout in front of evergreen veteran Peter Senior, South African world No.42 Tim Clark and defending US Amateur champion Danny Lee. “There&aposs a lot of class in these six groups,” tournament director Trevor Herden said. “I think they&aposre the highest quality we can put together and they haven&apost all played together in the last three weeks so that&aposs important also to get a good mix.”