Date: February 12, 2014

Men’s Senior Amateur Underway

The Men’sSenior Amateur Championship of Tasmania tees off today at the Mowbray Golf Club in Launceston. This year s championship has seen 84 competitors enter to chase the prestigious title currently held by Mona Vale golfer Stefan Albinski. Albinski won the championship last year when he defeated David Limbach and Vincent Clark of New South Wales by eight strokes. Former champion and local member Michael Leedham is back from surgery and hoping to capture a sixth crown. As are Queensland s Peter King and Michael Peeck, Victoria s Alan Bullas and New South Wales Geoff Wright. Local member Terence Clark, Tasmania s Tony Bailey and Geoffrey Leary, and Royal Hobart s Peter Hartam are also likely contenders. The event has been running since 1995 and this year marks the fifteenth time that Mowbray has hosted this official Australian Senior Order of merit championship. The 54-hole Australian Senior Order of Merit event is contested over three days and will conclude Friday. To download a full list of scores please click here