Date: August 09, 2013

Mona Vale seizes Masters Pennant title

Mona Vale seized the Masters Pennant title after defeating Castle Hill in the finals held at Lynwood Country Club on Sunday, 4th August. The victorious 2013 Mona Vale team comprised Stefan Albinski (Captain), Trevor Beale, Scott Beverley, Rod Dick, Dave Edwards, Phil Jones, John Karren, Mike Radford, Greg Stanford, Steve Whitmore and Graeme Wooster.
The Castle Hill team members comprised David Andrews (Captain), Greg Bezuidenhout, Bob Bowen, Steve Conley, John Dakin, Greg Imber, Len Maguccio, Rob Pedersen, Garry Power and Lindsay Verdon. Ray Calnan reported on behalf of The Masters Pennant Committee that both Mona Vale and Castle Hill found the course in great shape for this time of year, but as the wind got stronger later in the day it became quite a challenge to handle the hard and fast greens. The Castle Hill team who qualified for the finals in three of the last four years and won in 2010 were keen to improve on that record. However, the Mona Vale team, who last played in a final in 1986, had other ideas and managed to develop an early lead after the first nine holes and went on to win the game by 5 matches to 2. Close to one hundred teams competed in twenty-four divisions in the 2013 Masters Pennant. The twenty-four divisional winners were then seeded for the finals series. The field narrowed down to sixteen following the play-offs. The finals series produced surprising results. Last year s winner Monash and runners up Oatlands were eliminated, and clubs who had not progressed as far, or who never made the final series were in the mix. In the play-offs, defending champions Monash defeated Wollongong to make the final sixteen. Ryde Parramatta conquered Monash, only to be knocked out by Castle Hill in the quarter finals. Castle Hill had a comfortable win against Muree in the semi-finals to progress to the Final. Mona Vale defeated Wyong to make the final sixteen. The team powered through to knock out the previous year s runner up Oatlands and continued to blitz their opponents St Michaels, Carnarvon and Castle Hill to earn the top prize. Chairman of Golf NSW, Chris Allen, presented the 2013 Pennant to Mona Vale Director and team member John Karren. John stated the Mona Vale players are delighted to have won the club s first pennant since 1969… which will be displayed in a prominent position in the clubhouse . Chris also expressed continuing support for The Masters Pennant from Golf NSW for 2014, which was well received by those in attendance. Bruce Nairn OAM, also from Golf NSW, presented the Masters Pennant Perpetual Trophy to the team Captain Stefan Albinski, who congratulated Castle Hill on their achievement in reaching the final. Bruce also complimented The Masters Pennant Committee on the successful running of the 2013 competition. Masters President Ray Calnan presented the ecstatic Mona Vale players with their individual winning trophies, and a miniature of the main pennant. The Castle Hill players were presented with their individual runners up trophies. Captain of the Castle Hill team David Andrews congratulated Mona Vale on their very fine win!” The Masters Pennant Committee agreed that it can only be good for Senior Golf as more teams become competitive. This year was no exception, with quite a number of new clubs coming to the fore in the round robin divisional play.

Another successful year will be completed with The Masters Pennant Stroke Championship to be held on Friday 25th 2013 October at Stonecutters Ridge Golf Club. The 34th AGM will be held at Gladesville Sporties Club on Thursday 31st October 2013. To view full results visit: