Date: April 06, 2011

Moore Park crowned 2011 Division 1 Major Pennant Winners

Congratulations Moore Park Golf Club who have put the disappointment of last years Major Pennant final defeat to St. Michael&aposs behind them by winning the 2011 Major Pennant against NSWGC 4.5 matches to 2.5 at Pennant Hills GC on Sunday the 3rd of April. Over the years Moore Park s strength has always been its ability to field a solid team from the top order right through to the number 7 match. The team s performance in the final against NSW was another example of this strength from top to bottom. The Moore Park team have recorded only 3 losses in the home and away series of Major Pennants in the last 5 years which is quiet a remarkable achievement considering the high quality of competition that division 1 Major Pennants has to offer. In division 2 it was the favourites Concord GC who successfully accounted for Fox Hills with a comfortable 5/2 final result. Fox Hills did extremely well to match Concord&aposs 1 and 2 players with a squared result in both matches however the damage was already done with Concord dropping only one match out of the first five matches completed. At a picturesque Eastlake Golf Club Bankstown were up against Dunheved and in a similar scoreline to division 2 it was Bankstown who claimed the win with an impressive result winning 5.5 matches out of the possible 7 matches that were on offer. Division 4 saw Woolooware win a tight contest over Roseville at Cronulla GC 4 matches to 3 with the outcome going right down to the wire on the 17th hole of the last match. In a contest where the result could just of easily gone in Roseville&aposs favour it was Woolooware who managed to win the crucial moments and in doing so won their first Major Pennant in over 20 years. In Division 5 another very close match up was played out with a 4 and 3 result in favour of Northbridge who won the division taking the 4 matches against Kareela to hold aloft the division 5 major pennant. Both clubs will be looking to continue their success from this year&aposs season through to next year where they will progress up to division 4.