Date: March 22, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

Mornington Peninsula champions crowned at Portsea

Round 2 – Tuesday 22 March – Portsea GC

Players were yet again spoilt with beautiful weather for the second and final round of the Mornington Peninsula Senior Amateur at Portsea GC, following perfect conditions yesterday at Flinders GC.

Wayne Aigner has claimed the gross medallist honours, winning on a count-back from overnight leader Ian Frost of Bendigo. The Sandhurst member carded a 77 today for a 36-hole total of 143 to better Frost’s 79. “It’s been a long time between drinks” said Aigner, whose last win came back in 2008. Aigner also finished with a blistering nett 133, but under the tournament conditions can only win one major prize.

Taking out the men’s nett trophy was Tim Kirtley of 13th Beach. The 4 marker posted a two-round nett score of 143, with a 74 today securing him the count-back from runner-up Chris Keeshan of Centenary Park.

The women’s scratch stableford section was tightly contested and won by June Tickell of Trafalagar. In her maiden senior event of the year, Tickell recorded 25 and 27 points for a total of 52 scratch points, 1 shot clear of Buninyong’s Helen Pascoe.

2015 women’s stableford winner Maryann Elson has defended her title this year, 4 shots clear of runner-up Clare Murphy from Mornington. The Dunes member off a handicap of 7 finished with 61 points total, also taking home the best women’s stableford scores on each day.

Thank you to both clubs for the hospitality provided over the 2 days of competition. The next event on the Victorian Men’s & Women’s senior calendar is the Box Hill Senior Amateur played over 18 holes on Friday 8 April.

For full results, please click here.


Round 1 – Monday 21 March – Flinders GC

Round 1 of the Mornington Peninsula Senior Amateur was contested in perfect conditions today at Flinders GC. Players enjoyed sunny skies and light winds this afternoon as they made their way around the picturesque coastal layout.

Leading the men’s gross section is Ian Frost with a strong score of one over par 70. The Bendigo member is leading by 2 shots from Sandhurst member Wayne Aigner with 72 off the stick. Aigner has also taken a convincing lead in the nett section, with an impressive nett 64 off a handicap of 8. Chris Keeshan from Centenary Park is the next best score 4 shots behind with a nett score of 68.

Leading the Women’s Stableford charge is Maryann Elson from The Dunes. The 7 marker carded 32 stableford points to be leading by a mere shot from duo of June Tickell (Trafalgar) and Noel Kimpton (Mornington). Helen Pascoe form Buninyong came in with the best scratch stableford score of 26 scratch points. Hot on her tail only a shot behind are Elson, Tickell and Susie Dawes from Yarrawonga.

Players move down the peninsula to Portsea Golf Club tomorrow for the second and final round starting at 8:00am.