Date: August 14, 2018
Author: Christian Puccini

Murdock wins SA Sand Greens Championship

Adam Murdock from Warooka Golf Club has won back-to-back SA Sand Greens titles defeating 2013 champion Ryan Wheeler in a playoff.

The Championship partnered by MGA Insurance Brokers, was played at the Tintinara Golf Club in the South East District and attracted a field of 64 players competing across the 11-12 August weekend.

The Tintinara course was presented fantastically well, however the players faced wet conditions over the weekend with some hail on the opening day.

In the A-Grade, Murdock who won at Warooka last year and Cleve in 2015 posted an opening round 2-over 71 to be co leader with Tyler Bleasby from Woodlands in Victoria.

In the second round, despite a late charge by Wheeler who fired a one-under 68 for the low round of the day, Murdock was also rock solid, posting an even par 69, which saw both players finish +2 over and off to a playoff.

Despite the challenge, Murdock proved too steady claiming his third Sand Greens title.

The 36 hole Nett Aggregate was taken out by Shawn Rose from Yorketown Golf Club with a nett 140.

The mixed team of Jarred Dalton (Edithburgh), Bert Pearce (Kapunda), Phil Chapman (Aston Hills) and Tyler Bleasby (Woodlands) won the Teams event, with a combined (best three scores per round) total of 446.

In the Allen Hurst Trophy (B Grade Championship) for players with handicaps 13.0-27.4, Anthony Beyer from Jamestown with a handicap of 14 claimed the title also in a playoff over local Ross Zadow (86,87). A second round 81 after an opening 92 propelled Beyer to victory.

Best Nett Aggregate went to Grant Schmidt from Tintinara Golf Club with nett 130.

The Tintinara team of Ross Zadow, Brad Strother, Keith Harkness and Grant Schmidt won the Teams event (528).

Full results can be found on the Golf SA website