Date: November 04, 2011
Author: Christy Collier

Nathan Waters wins 2011 Men�s NSW Country C’ship

6 November 2011 Queanbeyan again turned on the weather for the second day of play in the 2011 Men’sNSW Country Championship. A fantastic score of one under (69) from 18-year-old Nathan Waters (Scone GC) saw him finish with one under after 36 holes for a total 139, and secure the overall Championship by one shot. Wyong s Alex Pitty finished in second position, shooting another par round of 70, to finish with 140. Callan O Reilly (Toronto GC) had a par round today to match his one over 71 from yesterday, and finish in third spot with 141 overall. The NSW Junior Country Championship was won by Nicholas Fuller from Federal Golf Club with a score of 144. Three shots behind on 147 in second place was Mitch Venables (Tathra Beach GC), while Jacob Tonkin from Coolangatta-Tweed Heads Golf Club finished on 148 in third position. The Seniors Inter-District Teams Championship was won by the Mid North Coast, finishing with 583. Team members were Jason Barby, Aaron Hart, Dan Swain, Logan Toms and Adam Wood. It was the Hunter River who took the spoils on a countback from the Far South Coast in the Junior Inter-District Teams Championship, the two teams finishing on 295. Team members for the Hunter River were Thomas Bateman, Will Barnett and Hayden Gulliver. Thank you to Queanbeyan Golf Club for hosting, and congratulations to all those who took part in what was a highly competitive Championship. Final Results Prize Winners Images – Day 2 5 November 2011 Queanbeyan Golf Course was in outstanding condition for the first day of play in the 2011 Men’sNSW Country Championship. 140 players from country area s around the state tee d off in superb weather conditions, ensuring some very good scores over the first 18 of the 36 hole event. It was a four-way tie for the lead at the end of the day with Nathan Waters (Scone GC), local Tasi Lolesio (Queanbeyan GC), Alex Pitty (Wyong GC) & Jacob Tonkin (Coolangatta Tweed Heads GC) all shooting par rounds of 70. Callan O Reilly (Toronto CC) and Dylan Perry (Muswelbrook GC) are just one shot behind the leaders, both shooting one over (71), while a host of others are a further one, two and three shots behind. It should make for an exciting finish to the Championship tomorrow, with much of the field still in contention. Draw – Day 2 Images – Day 1 Media Father and son join Hunter River Teams golf assault Late night stalls Lolesio&aposs Championship Charge Carlson carves up with nett win 4 November 2011 The NSW and ACT s most talented country golfers will travel to Queanbeyan Golf Club to contest the 2011 NSW Country Championship on Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th November 2011. The Championship will be played over 36-holes stroke play. DRAW & PLAYER INFORMATION The Championship also incorporates the NSW Junior Country Championship for players under 18 years of age and Inter-District Teams Challenge between teams from District Golf Associations throughout NSW. The Inter-District Teams Challenge attracts both Senior and Junior Teams from most of the District Zones within NSW, usually around 17 or 18 of the 20. Last year Newcastle District made a clean sweep of the four major trophies, taking out the NSW Country Champion (Chris Smith Belmont GC), NSW Junior Country Champion (Jake Higginbottom Charlestown GC), NSW Senior Teams Championship and NSW Junior Teams Championship. They will no doubt be back in force this year to defend their titles. The field is always strong, and features representatives from the NSW Senior, Colts and Junior State Teams, along with talented youngsters and experienced players from the country areas of NSW. The quality of golf across the two days is always of exceptionally high standard. The Championship is one of the most prestigious events conducted by Golf NSW, first played in 1947,and is being held in the ACT-Monaro District for the fourth consecutive year, second year at Queanbeyan Golf Club. Prior to that it had not been in the Capital for 61 years. Current professionals who have won the event include Nathan Green, Lucas Parsons and Brendan Jones. An added incentive for the winner of the Championship is automatic entry into the 2011 NSW Open to be played at Newcastle Golf Club from 17-20 November 2011. Live scoring, prize winners and images will be available online. For further information regarding this event please contact Christy Collier by email or on 0412 653 000.