Date: March 15, 2018
Author: Golf NSW

New faces make state teams in 2018

Eight new faces have been selected to represent NSW at the 2018 Australian Interstate Teams Matches to be played at The Grange and Glenelg Golf Clubs in South Australia from 8-11 May.

Five men will be making their debut in a new-look side following the departure of 2017 representatives Travis Smyth, Harrison Endycott and Kevin Yuan, who all turned professional. Dylan Perry has moved interstate, and Isaac Noh has taken up a college scholarship in the United States.

The five are Nathan Barbieri, Joshua Gadd, Jordie Garner, Harrison Crowe and Andrew Richards.


RELATED LINKS (click to view)

HIGH PERFORMANCE: New faces named in NSW HP Squad

KOOL KIM: Steph and Doey rub shoulders with the stars

WINDRED WINS: Blake wins one for the ages

NEXT GEN: Gadd continues birdie blitz

Three women will make their debut for NSW in Adelaide. Kelsey Bennett, Sophie Yip and Darcy Habgood, who represented Queensland last year, will join Stephanie Kyriacou, Doey Choi and Amy Chu in the six-person side.

New South Wales highest-ranked female, Avondale Golf Club’s Grace Kim, is unavailable after being selected to represent Australia in the Queen Sirikit Cup, while Hannah Park is relocating to Thailand.

Dean Kinney, Golf NSW national coach, was thrilled to announce the selections.

“All of those selected have demonstrated over the last 12 months or so, they are ready for State honours.

“They are all talented players, and we expect the teams to be very competitive indeed.

“I am especially looking forward to seeing the new faces in the women’s team bond and become a formidable unit over the course of the week,” Mr Kinney said.

The players are expected to get together for training in the coming weeks, with one of the first outings to be the now ‘traditional’ Men’s team Vs Women team challenge at New South Wales Golf Club.

The 2018 NSW State teams are:

Joshua Armstrong
Nathan Barbieri
Harrison Crowe
Joshua Gadd
Jordan Garner
James Grierson
Andrew Richards
Blake Windred

Kelsey Bennett
Doey Choi
Amy Chu
Darcy Habgood
Stephanie Kyriacou
Sophie Yip