Date: February 12, 2018
Author: Dave Tease

New faces make the grade for NSW

Eight new faces have been selected to represent New South Wales at the Boys’ and Girls’ Interstate Teams Matches to be held at Hartfield and Royal Perth Golf Club in April.

Five boys will be representing their state for the first time, while three new faces will join the girls’ team from the one that won the crown at Port Kembla Golf Club last year.

<image="2" align="left" />

Ethan Chambers, Harrison Crowe, Thomas Heaton, Lachlan Jones, and Corey Lamb will join Jye Pickin in the six-person Boys’ team for the four day series at Hartfield Golf Club from April 16th to 19th.

The girls’ team will contain three new faces in 2018.

Monica Johnson, June Song, and Sophie Yip will join the existing trio of Grace Kim, Stephanie Kyriacou and Belinda Ji for the three-day series which begins on April 15th at Royal Perth Golf Club.

<image="3" align="left" />

2017 team members Doey Choi and Amy Chu are ineligible due to their age, while Hannah Park, who remains eligible, will be relocating with her family to Thailand.

Dean Kinney, National Coach – NSW was thrilled to announce the teams and said it was a reward for the commitment the players had made to the sport. He believes the teams will be competitive and sees the selections as an opportunity for the group to further develop their games by competing against some of Australia’s best junior talent.

<image="4" align="left" />

“It’s exciting to see so many new faces,” Kinney said. “It will be a great experience for them.”

“Our expectations are high, not only regarding their performances but as representatives of Golf NSW and the sport,”

“Importantly, the opportunity to learn from the experience for all of them will be invaluable,” Kinney added.

In addition to the boys’ and girls’ representative teams, four boys and four girls have been selected in the Golf NSW Development Squad to attend the Australian Boys and Girls Amateur Championships to be played at Gosnells GC and Royal Perth GC from April 11th to 13th.

The Development squads are:

Bart Caroll
Josh Robards
Jeffrey Guan
Harvey Remfrey

Annika Rathbone
Annika Boyd
Claire Shin
Jasmine Driscoll