Date: December 20, 2017
Author: Christian Puccini

New Golf SA Board Members

Rod Phillips was elected to the Board of Golf SA at the 9th Annual General Meeting of the Association held on Saturday 21 October 2017 at The Playford Adelaide.

Phillips has performed a variety of executive roles in the energy sector. He has served on a number of boards and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Phillips enjoyed a successful grade cricket playing and coaching career with Sturt and Adelaide University. He has worked for over 20 years in cricket talent identification and HP and is a qualified Level 3 Cricket Australia coach. Phillips was a state selector from 2007 to 2011 and in 2013 joined the SA Cricket Association Board of Directors. He is a Qualified Rules Official and past club champion at Mount Osmond Golf Club where he is currently a member. Phillips is the current Senior Champion at Royal Adelaide Golf Club where he also holds membership.

Edwina Grant will fill a Casual Vacancy on the Board of Golf SA. Ms Grant is the Executive Officer (part-time) of Foundation for Rabbit Free Australia. She has a Bachelor of Applied Science (Speech Pathology) and has worked as a Speech Pathologist in regional South Australia, as well as a Volunteer Ambulance Officer and Training Officer for SA Ambulance.

Ms Grant was the most recently Women’s Captain at Royal Adelaide Golf Club where she was an active participant in club strategic planning in 2013 and a member of the membership working party making recommendations to club committee in working towards a genderless membership structure (adopted March 2017). Ms Grant has also been a past Captain of Robe Golf Club.

Sarah Chia (who was on the Golf SA Board from 2015-2017) was elected to the Board of Golf Australia in November 2017. Sarah is a Director at Kain Lawyers, working predominantly in mergers and acquisitions.

In accordance with Clause 10 of the Golf SA Constitution – Composition of the Board that states – there shall be a minimum of 40% of either gender in the total composition of the Board.

The current Golf SA Board is:

Tony Timmins (Chair)
Edwina Grant
Bill Klaebe
John Norman
Rod Phillips
Susan Seja

For 2016/2017 Annual Report – Click here