Date: November 16, 2013
Author: Golf Australia

Nomura Cup – Australians tied fourth after Round 2

ROUND 2 REPORT Australia moved into fourth place after the second round of the Nomura Cup on Friday at Santiburi Country Club in Thailand. The Australian team is on 419, five strokes behind leaders Japan on 414. Thailand and China are tied in second place on 415 on a tight leaderboard. For the Australian team, Victorian Geoff Drakeford recorded the best round with a 6-under par 66 while Queensland&aposs Taylor MacDonald fired a 3-under par 69. Fellow Queenslander Aaron Wilkin finished with a 1-over par 73 while New South Welshman Cameron Davis shot 77. The third round takes place on Saturday. The Men&aposs Asia-Pacific Teams Championship, or more commonly known as the Nomura Cup, is a biennial competition rotated among the Asia-Pacific region. Conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation, each team consists of four male players, contesting 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team s score for the championship. ROUND 1 Australia finished Round 1 six strokes off the pace in a tie for fifth place after the opening round of the Nomura Cup on Thursday at Santiburi Country Club in Thailand. Queensland&aposs Aaron Wilkin finished with the best round of the day for the Aussies with a 6-under par 66. Fellow Queenslander Taylor MacDonald finished with a 1-under 71 while Cameron Davis (+2) and Geoff Drakeford (+3) found the course more challenging as Australia finished on a team total of 211. The Chinese team leads the championship on 205 with the Japanese team and hosts Thailand one and two strokes behind respectively. Round One Results: 205 China 206 Japan 207 Thailand 208 Korea 211 Australia, Indonesia 212 New Zealand 214 Malaysia 215 India 216 Hong Kong, Singapore 217 Chinese Taipei 222 Philippines 225 Fiji 228 Myanmar 230 Bahrain, Guam, Vietnam 234 Iran 236 Pakistan 239 Nepal 242 United Arab Emirates 256 Qatar 263 Bhutan 270 Mongolia 279 Kyrgyzstan