Date: September 06, 2008

NSW Colts ride to victory

2008 Interstate Colts Teams Matches winner: NEW SOUTH WALES The New South Wales Colts, led by Lincoln Tighe and Mona Vale local Alex Peade, are the champions in the Australian Interstate Colts Teams Matches. NSW finished 4 matches clear of closest rival WA to be crowned winners. Bleak and cold conditions at Mona Vale meant singles matches were played first and it was NSW s 5-0 win over South Australia which confirmed the title. Going into the final round, SA s Tom Bond was undefeated in the singles but Lincoln Tighe ended that run, winning 1-up. Western Australia produced a solid final day performance to beat Tasmania and claim second spot on the table. WA s Shaun Malone was the only player to get through the series undefeated in singles, winning his last match 9&7 over Luke Young. WA s number one player Brenton Haines wasn t as lucky, losing his final singles match to Tasmanian James Pyke which left the Apple Isle in fifth position on the table. Victoria cemented their third place finish despite losing by two matches to Queensland. Jared Consoli performed well again the number one position defeating Ben Weatherly 1-up. STANDINGS: 1. NSW 2. WA 3. QLD 4. VIC 5. TAS 6. SA Click here for a full scoreboard of the Colts&apos final day