Date: April 22, 2010

NSW wins Boys’ Interstate Teams Matches

Australian Boys&apos Interstate Teams Matches – Results Round 7 – FINAL CONTEST New South Wales Matthew Wittenburg struck the decisive blow with his victory in the opening match against Queensland s Sam Daley to hand New South Wales victory at the 2010 Australian Boys Interstate Teams Matches at Launceston Golf Club. Needing to win just one match to claim the title, Wittenburg defeated Daley 3&1 to give NSW the advantage they needed. Wins for Jake Higginbottom, Jarrod Freeman and Wittenburg gave NSW a 3 to 1 contest victory. Queensland s Maverick Antcliff and Josh Cabban (NSW) fought out a squared match a result which left both players undefeated for the championship. The New South Wales team won all seven of their contests. Queensland finished in second place follow the defeat to NSW with Aaron Wilkin (QLD) in good form for the week. The Victorian boys team finished in third place following their final round 3 to 1 win over the Northern Territory. Ben Eccles (VIC) and Tom Power-Horan (VIC) won 3&2 and 6&5 respectively to help the Victorians cement their place in the top three. Western Australia finished in fourth place, just half a match ahead of Tasmania in fifth place. The Western Australians defeated South Australia 3-2 on the final day as Ryan Peake (WA) defeated Australian Boys Amateur champion Anthony Murdaca (SA) 4&3. Tasmania finished in fifth following a resounding 5-0 contest win over the ACT. Cory Crawford (7&6) and Mitchell Smith (4&3) both had solid wins for the host state. The ACT team finished in sixth place after their loss to Tasmania. The Northern Territory team finished in seventh place following their loss to Victoria as South Australia completed the places with their 3-2 loss to runners up Western Australia.