Date: March 03, 2009

Old rivalries reignited at Trans-Tasman

In Canberra this week? Click here for directions to Royal Canberra Golf Club Sporting tensions will be revived this week as Australia takes on the old enemy, New Zealand in the 2009 Trans-Tasman Cup. Royal Canberra Golf Club will host the battle in a international championship which has seen many bright lights in recent years. Last year saw Johnnie Walker Classic winner Danny Lee in the NZ squad while Jared Pinder. also in the squad, snared his Australasian Tour card earlier this year. Australia&aposs open men&aposs squad included now professionals Matt Griffin and Josh Younger. The Australian women&aposs squad included now European Tour player Stephanie Na, Clare Choi and Kristie Smith, who shot a course record 62 at Royal Pines this year. The talent in 2009 is equally strong and half of the players will be making their Australian debuts. Victorian amatuer champion Luke Bleumink will be joined by Matt Jager, Tasmanian Open champion Ryan McCarthy and NSW&aposs Brendan Smith in the men&aposs team. The women&aposs team includes last week&aposs Riversdale Cup winner Ashlee Dewhurst, Bree Arthur and national squad players Rebecca Flood, and Stacey Keating. The boys&apos team includes Queensland Boys&apos champion Cameron Smith and new national squad member Daniel Nisbet who be joined by Luke Humphries and Bryden Macpherson. The girls&apos team includes Whitney Hillier and Justine Lee (leading amateur at the Women&aposs Australian Open). Victoria&aposs Grace Lennon and Queensland&aposs Jacki Marshall will join them. New Zealand&aposs squads include Zoe Beth-Brake and Emily Perry with both girls grappling for the lead over the first three rounds of the Riversdale Cup in Melbourne. Caroline Bon also played at the Women&aposs Australian Open at Metropolitan. With a strong men&aposs team also coming out, the stage is set for a solid battle between all teams. It&aposs only fitting that the national capital hosts the battle for the Tasman.