Date: October 07, 2006

Past Winners Square off at Bribie Island Golf Club

The 2006 MFS Australian Senior Women’s Amateur Championship will be played at Bribie Island Golf Club, QLD 9 to 13 October. Over 130 senior women players ( 50 and over) will play this exclusive National Championship. This year s event will mark the 20 playing of the championship since it s inception at Metropolitan Golf Club (VIC) in 1987. Previous triple-time winners Fay Payne (QLD), who won in 1994, 1995 and 1996, and Sylvia Donohoe (NSW), winner in 2001, 2002 and 2005, will be both vying to take out the title for the fourth time. Among their challengers will be Gia Stolz (QLD) and Josie Ryan (QLD) who are also past champions of the event in 2000 and 2003 respectively. The afore mentioned champions all have their name inscribed on the perpetual trophy a sterling silver frill necked lizard hand crafted by Mike Hammond. This trophy was donated in 1987 by the then President of the ALGU/WGA, the late June Griffith. This year s field includes 86 interstate players, many of whom have contested the title consistently since the inaugural event in 1987. Among the field is last year s Super Veterans Flight winner Jane Donohue (TAS) and Robyn Noonan (NSW) who took out the Veteran s Flight in 2005. Outside of the MFS Australian Senior Women’s Amateur Championship itself, there are four other competitions including, Veterans (60-65 year old) and Super Veterans (66 plus), Championship Flight and a Handicap Flight. Having entered into the golf sponsorship field by securing naming-rights sponsorship of the MFS Open, MFS Women’s Open and the MFS Australian Senior Amateur Championship, MFS is again supporting a national championship. MFS has a strong reputation as an innovative fund manager. MFS specialises in diversified funds management, structured finance and tourism and currently manages over billion in assets across Australia and New Zealand. MFS launched its unique golfing community fund, the Australian Golf Income Fund, in May 2006. All tournament details, plus the latest news and scores will be available from the National Championships section of this website.