Date: February 02, 2012

Peninsula hosts Trans Tasman rivalry

Peninsula Country Golf Club will host the 2012 Trans-Tasman Cup from 7-9 March with the best players from Australia and New Zealand going head-to-head. Both countries bring four strong teams to the tournament a Men’steam, Women’s team, Boys&apos team and Girls&apos team. The Australian Men’steam includes Australian Amateur medallist Cameron Smith, recent Riversdale Cup champion and World Number 11 Jake Higginbottom, Master of the Amateurs champion Nathan Holman and National Squad member Ryan McCarthy. They face a NZ team including two time Australian Amateur runner-up, Ben Campbell, Blair Riordan, Mathew Perry and Vaughan McCall. The New Zealand Women’s team is led by Emily Perry, Chantelle Cassidy, Sarah Bradley and Julianne Alvarez. Australia brings a team which includes NSW Amateur champion Grace Lennon, 2011 Australian Amateur Champion Ashlee Dewhurst, Australian No.1 Breanna Elliott and former Dunes Medal winner Adriana Brent. The Australian Boys&apos team includes 2010 Junior champion and National Squad member Anthony Murdaca, Victorian junior champion Lucas Herbert, National Squad member Oliver Goss and Australian Amateur semi finalist Ruben Sondjaja. They ll face a Kiwi team including Ryan Chisnall, Sam An, Tyler Hodge and rising star Compton Pikari who makes his international debut in Melbourne after winning the South Island Stroke Play Championship last week on the back of three junior title victories. The Australian Girls&apos team is well represented by National Squad members Su Hyun Oh (Aaron Baddeley World Junior champion), Jaimee Dougan, Queensland junior champion Lauren Mason and WA junior champion Hannah Green. Played every two years, it is made up of four categories of four players each. The Boys&apos Category contest the Clare Higson Trophy, the Girls&apos Category contest the Junior Tasman Cup, the Open Men&aposs Category contests the Sloan Morpeth Trophy, and the Open Women&aposs Category contests the Tasman Cup. Each play foursomes and singles scratch match play over two rounds.