Date: June 03, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

PENNANT – Simpson Cup Rd 4 / Women’s A1 Rd 2

Chris Brown in action for Grange in the 2011 Final at Kooyonga GC Metropolitan Pennant – Simpson Cup Round 4 summary The Grange has moved to third on the Simpson Cup ladder, overtaking Highercombe, courtesy of an epic 4 – 3 win over Royal Adelaide. Kooyonga and Glenelg remain undefeated after squaring their match 3.5 a piece, while Tea Tree Gully and Mt Lofty also played out a draw. Winless going into the round, Flagstaff Hill convincingly defeated Highercombe 7 – 0, with home ground advantage proving far too strong. The Grange however was the big mover and is now only a half match from the top of the table. Royal Adelaide battled manfully and at one stage were squared 3 all, with wins to Nathan and Cameron Baulderstone over Ben Stowe and Matt Lisk and Matt Lawson at number three, 2up over Jack Williams. However State Captain and Grange number 1 Chris Brown proved too strong for Patric Kroschel winning 2&1 hauling his team over the line. Campbell Rawson saved the day for Glenelg with his one hole victory over Will Somerfield. Kooyonga started the contest strongly with wins to Zak Fuller, Daniel Speirs and Tim Baker, while winners for Glenelg were Andrew Grzybowski 4&3 over Jordan Bishop and Matt McGowan 2up over Heath Riches, while Anthony Olsen and John Hayes played out a square. Rawson however grinded out a vital win which sees both Glenelg and Kooyonga equal top with 3 rounds to play. In another close contest, Tea Tree Gully squared with Mt Lofty 3.5 3.5 to remain in 5th position. Matt McMahon, Zane Thompson and Chris Austin were winners for the Gulliers, while Kym Rivett, Dylan Goers, and Phil Roberts all had wins for Mt Lofty. The number two match between Greg Blewett and Ramon Thorne ended square. Highercombe s chances of a top two finish were dealt a massive blow after a convincing defeat by Flagstaff Hill. After being highly competitive in each round so far, Flagstaff Hill finally played to its true potential. The only match to go the distance was the number encounter between Scott Ready and Nick May, with Flaggies Skipper Ready the winner 1 up. Metropolitan Pennant – Women’s A1 Round 2 summary Royal Adelaide remain undefeated after round two of the 2013 Women&aposs A1 Pennant Competition also played at Flagstaff Hill Golf Club, while Blackwood and Glenelg notched up their first win. Blackwood was impressive defeating Kooyonga 3 – 2. Former junior state player Christine Beazley and Angela Masters both won their matches 5&3 over Libby Broomhead and Vivian Chu respectively, while Jo Buchanan at number one proved too strong for Cara Guest 3&1. Ann Vanstone and Jodie Deacon secured 2 games for Kooyonga, both with tight 2&1 wins over Lorry Brown and Sally Graham. Glenelg regained form by defeating the Golf SA Team 4 – 1. Mother and daughter duo, Jill and Josie Hodge both had solid 3&2 wins for Glenelg, while Elysia Yap defeated Acacia Curtis 3&1 and Jenny Lee proved to be too strong for State Junior Captain Rachel Taylor 4&3. For the Golf SA Team, Zoe Taylor defeated Sophie James 1up to secure its only game. In the final match of the morning Royal Adelaide defeated The Grange 3 – 2 courtesy of wins to Megan Bleeze 2up over Ella Adams, Jovanna Bozanic 2up against Jean Foo and a 3&1 win to Caitlin Roberts over Louise Glennon 3&1. For Grange Kristalle Blum had a 2&1 victory over Juliet Hugo and Cassidy Evreniadis was impressive defeating Carolyn Cochrane 7&6, however Royal Adelaide s depth proved to be too strong. For the Pennant Competition page CLICK HERE For Simpson Cup Rd 4 Results – CLICK HERE For Women’s A1 Rd 2 Results – CLICK HERE Men’sand Women’s matches recommence on Sunday 16th June at The Grange following a bye for the Queen s Birthday. Men’sSimpson Cup – Round 5 (16th June at Grange) 1st Tee 7.30 am Royal Adelaide v Tea Tree Gully 1st Tee 8.25 am Highercombe v Kooyonga 1st Tee 9.30 am Flagstaff Hill v Mount Lofty 1st Tee 10.15 am Grange v Glenelg Women’s A1 – Round 3 (16th June at Grange) 1st Tee 11.10 am Grange v Kooyonga 1st Tee 11.50 am Golf SA v Blackwood 1st Tee 12.30 pm Glenelg v Royal Adelaide