Date: May 01, 2008

Preliminary Australian squad selected for WATC

Golf Australia is pleased to announce the selection of a preliminary men&aposs and women&aposs squad for the World Amateur Team Championships to be played in Adelaide, 8-19 October. The seven men and five women will travel to Adelaide in August for training at Royal Adelaide and The Grange Golf Clubs prior to final team selection later in the month. The players in the squads have proven themselves the most likely to be considered for selection with their strong performances in Australian and international events. The squad is as follows and will be captained by Stuart Cox (NSW) and Jo Atkin (QLD): Men: Scott Arnold (NSW/NSWIS), Rohan Blizard (NSW), Matt Griffin (Vic/VIS), Matt Jager (WA), Jason Scrivener (WA), Tim Stewart (NSW) and Josh Younger (Vic/VIS). Women: Julia Boland (NSW), Clare Choi (Vic/VIS), Stephanie Na (SA), Kristie Smith (WA) and Alison Whitaker (Vic/US college). The majority of these players are heading overseas in June and July to contest events in the United Kingdom, United States or in some cases both. Their results at these events will provide valuable information to selectors as well providing all players the perfect lead-in preparation for October&aposs World Amateur Team Championships. Last week&aposs Srixon Australian Amateur Championships provided an exciting preview of the calibre of players and world class golf courses that will be on show in October. Players from around the world travelled to South Australia to prepare for the prestigious event and the fact that one of them walked away with the men&aposs title proves the skill and competitiveness the international contingent will bring when they return. The World Amateur Team Championships is the pinnacle of the amateur game for the world&aposs leading male and female golfers who compete respectively for the Eisenhower Trophy and the Espirito Santo Trophy. Two of Australia&aposs premier golf courses will host this year s Championships, Royal Adelaide Golf Club and The Grange Golf Club. The 2008 event will mark the second occasion that Australia has hosted the Championships and the 50th year since the inaugural Eisenhower Trophy was played at St Andrews in Scotland. For more information on the World Amateur Team Championships visit: