Date: December 08, 2016
Author: Golf Queensland

Q Sport Award Golf Finalists

Queensland Sport's 'Night of the Year'

Golf Queensland is pleased to announce the golf finalists for the 2016 Queensland Sport Awards.

Golf enjoyed strong representation at the Annual Q Sport's Sport Awards with three finalists on Thursday night

Golf Queensland proudly nominated each finalised for their outstanding achievements and dedication to the game of golf throughout this year.

Finalists for Sport Star of the Year were announced by The Courier-Mail and Channel 7 in the lead-up to the award ceremony. Congratulations Olympic Swimmer and Medalist Cate Campbell name Queensladn Sport Star of the Year.

Jason Day has come a long way from the golf courses of Beaudesert to be world number one. From the young man who practised morning, noon and night to world beater on course, Jason Day has displayed the fortitude and strength of character to climb to the top of his field. Jason Day is the current World Number 1 in the World Golf Ranking, having first achieved the ranking in September 2015. He is the youngest and only the third Australian to hold World Number 1. It has been another successful year for Jason Day with 3 wins, ten top 10 finishes and world number one next to his name.

Richard Woodhouse has been nominated as Queensland Sport Coach of the year after just recently being named the PGA Australia’s Best Teaching Professional at the Greg Norman Medal Dinner. Richard is a member of the Golf Queensland State Coaching Panel as well as coach of the 2016 Golf Queensland Women’s Interstate winning team. He has a proven track record in coaching and developing golfers at all levels and motivating teams and individuals to consistently surpass targets and bring out the best in their game. The success of his players and teams is a direct reflection of Richard’s dedication to golf in Queensland and nationally.

This year saw Queensland win the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup at the Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches Championship played at Royal Queensland, earning their nomination as Queensland Sport Team of the Year. The Queensland team defeated Victoria 4-2 in the final round, successfully ending their drought of championships. The Queensland Women’s team last won the Interstate series in 2010 when they shared victory with Victoria. This was a very sweet and well-deserved win for the girls on the team.

The full list of finalists is available via the Q Sport website.