Date: May 18, 2017
Author: Golf Queensland

Qld Women�s Country a roaring success

<image="2" align="left" />

The 2017 Queensland Women’s Country Championship has continued its dominance as Queensland’s largest golf participation event with almost 400 players converging to the Central Queensland District.

Rockhampton Golf Club and Yeppoon Golf Club played host to this year’s championship with 60 clubs represented in the field. The three days of golf started with the Foursomes Championship on Monday, with the individual Championships following on Tuesday and Wednesday.

In the Stroke Championship, Trudi Petrie (1770) a 1987 Queensland state team player claimed the Queensland Women’s Country title after firing a second round 75 to go with her first round 75 for a total of 150. Petrie proudly donned her Queensland team jacket while accepting the trophy, ecstatic with her win.

Noosa’s Olivia Dolan fired rounds of 79-76 (155) to claim runner-up, with 2016 runner-up Sheree Hasson (Mackay) in third.

Liezel Parry (Palmer Gold Coast) seized division 2 honours after consistent rounds of 93-93 (186) which was enough for a one-shot buffer over Yeppoon’s Betty Dann who had 36-hole total of 187.

Division 3 was tightly contested with Jo-Anne Petersen (Gladstone) securing the title on a countback from Elaine Stewart (Yeppoon) after the pair shot 35points and 36 points in the two day stableford event.

The Yeppoon ladies continued their sweep after Elizabeth Moss produced a tremendous final 42-point round for a 78-point 36-hole total to claim the Division 4 stableford event over Lyn Smith (Sarina) with 68-points.

Bundaberg’s Del Crowley proudly scored an ace during the tournament on the 2nd hole at Rockhampton Golf Club.

Sheree Hasson (Mackay) partnered with Margrethe Harbo (Burleigh) to take out the Foursomes event on Sunday with a round of 83. The Bundaberg pairing of Marian Hemsley & Miriam Newman finished in second place with a score of 86.

The unplanned pairing of Brenda Phillips (Calliope) and Debra McCowan (Mackay) who were teamed up one minute before the 8am shotgun start, proved to be successful as the pair claimed division 2 over Nola Giddins (Sarina) and Lee Craig (Club) by two shots.

Golf Queensland would like to extend a sincere thank you to hosts courses Rockhampton Golf Club and Yeppoon Golf Club for hosting this year’s event, special mention must be made to all the course staff, clubhouse staff and volunteers who contributed many long hours to ensure a successful three days.

Golf Queensland is proud to announce North Queensland as the 2018 host district, with the event to be staged at Mackay Golf Club and Pioneer Valley Golf Club, from May 14-16.

Tournament photos can be found on the Golf Queensland Facebook page.


Division 1 Gross
Division 1 Nett
Division 2 Gross
Division 2 Nett
Division 3 Stableford
Division 4 Stableford

Foursomes Division 1: Click Here
Foursomes Division 2: Click Here