Date: March 01, 2009

Queen Sirikit, Southern Cross teams unveiled

Golf Australia today announced the Australian team selections for the upcoming Queen Sirikit Cup and Southern Cross Cup. The team selections for the 2009 Queen Sirikit Cup are Julia Boland (NSW), Rebecca Flood (NSW) and Stacey Keating (VIC). This year s Queen Sirikit Cup will be held at Nirwana Golf Club in Bali from 1-3 April. The Queen Sirikit Cup is an annual 54-hole stroke play championship which rotates between 14 invited member nations and is designed to promote women’s amateur golf in the Asia-Pacific region. The team manager is Sharon Dawson and the coach is Dennise Hutton. The Australian team selections for the Southern Cross Cup are Scott Arnold (NSW), Matt Jager (WA), Ryan McCarthy (TAS) and Brendan Smith (NSW). The Southern Cross Cup is played every two years between Australia, Argentina, New Zealand and South Africa. This year s tournament will be held from 16-18 April. The team of four play Foursomes followed by Singles Round Robin Match Play. The team manager is Barry Shepherd. Golf Australia/AIS High Performance Program Manager Peter Knight said he was confident that both teams would perform well in their respective tournaments. The players in both teams have shown excellent recent results as well as being consistently good over the past year,” Knight said. “I expect they will perform well in NZ and Indonesia as they have all gained recent international experience and performed strongly when they have done so.”