Date: January 18, 2011

Queen Sirikit team bound for India

Golf Australia has announced the Australian women’s team to compete in the 2011 Queen Sirikit Cup at Delhi Golf Club in India from 7-11 March 2011. The Australian team members are: Breanna Elliott (VIC), Ashley Ona (QLD) and Jessica Speechley (WA). Minjee Lee (WA) and Ashlee Dewhurst (TAS) are the reserves. Last Sunday Elliott won the Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship at Belmont Golf Club and in 2010 won the Queensland Women’s Stroke Play title and was a member of the joint-winning Victorian team at the Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches. A former Australian junior champion, Ona won the New South Wales Women’s Stroke Play in 2010 and has represented Australia before at the Trans-Tasman Cup. Speechley was one of two Karrie Webb Series scholarship recipients in 2010 and also won the Riversdale Cup. In 2009 Speechley won the South Australian and Western Australian Stroke Play titles. Golf Australia High Performance Director Brad James will be the Team Manager in Delhi and Western Australian National Coach Ritchie Smith will be the Team Coach. The championship is hosted annually on a rotation basis among 14 invited member countries with the objectives of promoting the standard of women’s golf in the region and to promote goodwill and friendship among participating teams. Each country is represented by 2-3 national team players who compete in the 54-holes stroke play over 3 rounds. Australia last won the tournament in 2001. Korea is the defending champion.