Date: April 26, 2009

Queensland girls take title

RESULTS Click here to view the Final Results Queensland took hold of the Burtta Cheney Cup after their win in the Australian Girls Interstate Teams Matches at Alice Springs Golf Club this afternoon. Leading after every round of the championship, the Queenslanders continued their relentless charge to the title with a 4-1 win over South Australia. Ali Orchard (QLD) was undefeated for the entire championship and had a comfortable 6&5 win in her final match. South Australia s Emma Ash took her second major win for the week, beating Australian Girls Amateur champion Ashley Ona 2&1 after accounting for Srixon Australian Amateur champion Justine Lee in an earlier round. The win caps the second year in a row the Queensland girls have taken the trophy after their win at Nudgee Golf Club in 2008. It also marks the ninth consecutive time that New South Wales have finished second in the championship. The NSW team defeated Western Australia 3 to 1 in their final contest with Justine Lee, Monica Jung and Carly Beck all claiming outright victories. Victoria and Western Australia could not be separated and finished in a tie for third place. The Victorian team defeated Bass Strait rivals Tasmania 4-1 with Breanna Elliott s 9&7 a highlight. Despite a tough championship, Tasmania was spurred on by Sarah Johnstone who won again, defeating Grace Lennon 4&3. Western Australia, second overnight, slipped into third position after their loss to NSW. Tasmania finished in fifth position after their loss to Victoria. South Australia finished in sixth after their contest against the champions. The championship completes a fortnight of action from Australia s Red Centre. Australian Boys Amateur Champion: Do Eun An (QLD) Australian Girls Amateur Champion: Ashley Ona (QLD Australian Boy s Interstate Teams Matches: New South Wales Australian Girls Interstate Teams Matches: Queensland LEADERBOARD (Australian Girls Interstate Teams Matches) Matches Contests 1. Queensland 19 4 2. New South Wales 16 3 =3 Victoria 13 3 =3 Western Australia 13 3 5. Tasmania 5 1 6. South Australia 7 0