Date: September 07, 2010

Rivalries renewed at Interstate Series

There is now less than one week to go before Brisbane plays host to state versus state golf action at the 2010 Australian Interstate Teams Matches at McLeod Country Golf Club, Oxley Golf Club and Wynnum Golf Club from 13-17 September. The Australian Men’sInterstate Teams Matches at Oxley Golf Club will showcase the most talented players in the men’s amateur ranks in Australia. Queensland s team will be headlined by reigning Keperra Bowl champion Gavin Fairfax, Queensland Stroke Play champion Cameron Smith and rising star Tim Hart. The New South Wales team includes NSW Amateur champion Jake Higginbottom, Lincoln Tighe and Michael Smyth. Victoria will be hoping to defend its title and boasts Eisenhower Cup team member Kieran Pratt and AIS squad member Daniel Beckmann. South Australia will be led by reigning Australian Master of the Amateurs champion Jordan Sherratt and Anthony Murdaca who finished sixth at the Junior British Open Championship, and in April became the youngest ever winner of the Australian Boys Amateur Championship. Ryan McCarthy, who recently made the last 16 of US Amateur championship will be joined by Kalem Richardson in leading Tasmania, while Western Australia will be highlighted by Brody Ninyette and Ryan Peake. Queensland last won the Men’sInterstate Teams Matches in 2004 at Royal Queensland Golf Club. The competition will be equally fierce at McLeod Country Golf Club as Australia s best women compete for the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup in the Australian Women’s Interstate Teams Matches. Queensland is headed by AIS Squad member Ashley Ona and Courtney Massey with the pair recently crowned Queensland Women’s Foursomes champions. Western Australia will field a strong team with Karrie Webb Series recipient Jessica Speechley and National Squad member Whitney Hillier, returning from injury, joined by Jayde Panos and new talent Whitney Harvey. Current Srixon Australian Amateur champion Stacey Keating will lead Victoria, alongside NSW Amateur champion Sue Wooster and current Queensland Stroke Play champion Breanna Elliott. Last year s Srixon Australian Amateur champion Justine Lee heads the New South Wales team to defend their title, while players to watch for South Australia include Australian Trans Tasman Team Members Ebony Heard and Emma Ash. Ashlee Dewhurst will be a key player for Tasmania. The Queensland women’s team last lifted the Gladys Hay Memorial Cup in 2007 at Barwon Heads Golf Club in Victoria. Australia s rising players will be on display at Wynnum Golf Club in the Australian Colts Interstate Teams Matches for players aged 18-23 years. Players to watch include New South Wales trio Dimi Papadatos, Jordan Zunic and Luke Humphries and Victoria s Geoff Drakeford and Travis Sharpe. Taylor MacDonald and Kevin Marques are among the names to fight for Queensland while brothers Stephen and Daniel Speirs will be among the key players for the South Australian team. Queensland last won the Australian Colts Interstate Teams Matches in 2000 in South Australia. The Championships are played in round robin format, with each state competing against each other state over Foursomes and Singles Match Play. Foursomes matches commence at 7.45 am each day, with singles matches commencing at 12.30 pm each day. The Championships are Australia s premier teams championships, with the men’s event having been played since 1894, the women’s since 1897, and the Colts a recent edition, having been played since 1993.