Date: January 24, 2007

Rivalry heightened

Sportal Golf Australia has announced it will consolidate four existing amateur championships played against New Zealand to create one highly competitive event known as the Trans Tasman Cup. The Clare Higson Trophy, Sloan Morpeth Trophy, Junior Tasman and Tasman Cup will all be rolled into one event between the two countries, with the intention of creating a more prestigious championship as well as raising the profile of such amateur events. The championship will be played in match play format with both foursomes and singles matches being played, with the country with the most overall match wins to take home the Trans Tasman Cup. Manager of tournaments and championships Trevor Herden said the combination of the four events will create an impressive spectacle for golf fans. “Our aim is to build this international competition into a key event on our golfing calendar and with the fierce existing rivalry between Australia and New Zealand, this new format is sure to up the ante. It will be an incredible experience for these elite golfers and spectators,” he said. “We are encouraging spectators to wear their green and gold, get up close to the action and cheer on our potential next Norman, Ogilvy and Webb on the fairways.” The 2007 Trans Tasman Cup will be held on home soil at The Royal Canberra Golf Club, which is recognised as one of Australia&aposs top 20 golf courses. “Despite four consecutive years of above average summer temperatures and well below average rainfall, the course is in excellent condition,” said Ian Trevena, general manager of The Royal Canberra Golf Club. “The main challenge for competitors will be the fast greens and narrow, tree-lined fairways, which will certainly make for an exciting tournament.” The inaugural event will be held on Tuesday 20 February to Friday 23 February 2007, at The Royal Canberra Golf Club. Men&aposs team: Andrew Dodt, Richie Gallichan, Rick Kulacz and Tim Stewart Women&aposs team: Emma Bennett, Frances Bondad, Sarah Oh and Kristie Smith Junior Boy&aposs team: Matthew Giles, Tarquin MacManus, Daniel Nisbet and Jason Scrivener Junior Girl&aposs team: Ashley Dewhurst, Whitney Hillier, Grace Lennon and Stephanie Na