Date: February 20, 2008

Riversdale Cup set for a memorable year

Australia&aposs top five amateur golfers are among a record number of entrants for the international men&aposs amateur championship event, the Riversdale Cup to be played in Melbourne in March. World No. 6 and 2007 Australian Amateur Champion Rohan Blizard (NSW), defending Riversdale Cup holder Tim Stewart (NSW), Matthew Griffin (VIC), Justin Roach (NSW) Matt Jager (WA) are among 230 players to have entered for the prestigious event. “We have been overwhelmed with entries,” said Riversdale Captain John Cocks. “We are now facing the possibility of the ballot being at 1.1 handicap to get a final field of 160 players.” The Riversdale Cup is one of Australia&aposs oldest national golf events, marking its 113th year when it gets underway on March 7-10. The 50th Women’s Riversdale Cup, which starts on February 24, has also had a record number of entries. Rising teenage stars Kristie Smith, 19, of Western Australia and Rebecca Flood, of Coonabarabran, NSW, are among the 92 players who have entered the 72-hole Karrie Webb Series event. Smith shone among the professionals in the recent 2008 MFS Women&aposs Australian Open to be the leading amateur player, tied for fifth, while Flood was just two stokes behind tied for 6th. The Australian Women&aposs and Men&aposs Foursomes Championships will be played also at Riversdale on 22 February and 5 March respectively, along with the International Teams Championship on 7-10 March. Twelve international teams have registered for the Championship, including England, Scotland, Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, the Philippines as well as our State Teams. England&aposs Elite squad member Jamie Abbott, 20, from Suffolk and Adam Wainwright of Greensborough are among a strong contingent of top international golfers, also including New Zealand s Danny Lee and Scottish champions Callum Macauley and Wallace Booth. Abbott, a former winner of the Henriques Salver for the best British under-20 player at the Brabazon Trophy, is coming off a successful year with Top 10 finishes in the Berkhamsted Trophy, Lagonda Trophy, South of England Stroke Play and the Lee Westwood Trophy.