Date: April 13, 2011

Round 1 Reports: Australian Junior Titles

<image="1" align="right" />

Newcastle Golf Club


Defending champion Annie Choi (KOR) and New South Wales’ Cathleen Santoso share the first round lead at the Australian Girls’ Amateur Championship at Newcastle Golf Club.

Choi, who won by two strokes in Tasmania last year, posted an even par 73 to be tied with Santoso, who was a quarter finalist at the Srixon Australian Amateur.

On a day where the wind picked up in the afternoon, Choi and Santoso now hold a two stroke lead over five players tied at 2-over par

NSW pair Chantal Hodson and Aliza Huff shot opening rounds of 75 and are joined in a tie for third by Koreans Olympia Kang , Anna Lim and Su-Hyun Oh.

Srixon Australian Amateur runner up Minjee Lee (WA) finished with a 3-over par 76 to be tied with Jaimee Dougan (QLD) and Montana Strauss (VIC).

Queensland trio Emily McLennan, Elmay Viking and Claudia Wong are all tied for 11th at 4-over par.

The second round begins on Thursday.

Carnarvon Golf Club

Round One and Two

Round One

On a day when many players struggled with the fast greens, Lucas Herbert from Commonwealth Golf Club in Victoria takes a one stroke lead after the first round of the 2011 Australian Boys’ Amateur Championship at Carnarvon Golf Club in Sydney’s west.

Starting on the back 9, Herbert played his opening nine holes in 3-under par 33 and maintained his consistency on his second nine to return a 3-under par 69, one stroke away from the course record.

WA’s Oliver Goss and NSW’s Brayden Petersen returned 2-under par totals of 70 in the afternoon to be tied in second.

New Zealand’s Tyler Hodge, South Australia’s Moe Nagi, Teremoana Beaucousin from French Polynesia and Scott Kirkby from Moree in North West NSW share a tie for fourth after rounds of 72.

A host of players posted a 1 over par 73, including National Squad members Cameron Smith and Jake Higginbottom. 12 year old Ryan Ruffels, son of former professional tennis player Ray Ruffels, returned a 77, while defending champion, Anthony Murdaca (SA) remains in contention with a 3-over par 75.

The second round begins on Thursday.