Date: October 06, 2012
Author: Golf Australia

Round 2 – Aussies hit by weather delays

The Australian men’s team of Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Cameron Smith (QLD) and Matthew Stieger (NSW) are yet to complete their second rounds following a six hour weather delay due to thunderstorms at the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in Antalya, Turkey. The Australians had completed 15 holes at Antalya Golf Club’s Sultan Course when play was called for the day. Smith was 3-under par at the time while Stieger was 2-over par and Nisbet was 5-over par. The incomplete round score sees the Australians moving up into a tie for 26th. The second round will be completed on Saturday evening (AEST). The Australian men’s team last won the Eisenhower Trophy in 1996 in a team that included Jamie Crow, David Gleeson, Jarrod Moseley and Brett Partridge. Each team has two or three players and plays 72 holes of stroke play over four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team s score for the championship.