Date: September 28, 2007

Royal Melbourne to host 2011 Presidents Cup

Just prior to the commencement of this weekend&aposs Presidents Cup in Montreal, US PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem announced that Royal Melbourne Golf Club will host the prestigious event when it comes to Australia in 2011. Melbourne was revealed as the host city in April this year, but until now, a course had not been named. Located on Victoria&aposs famed sand belt, Royal Melbourne will become the first club outside of the United States to host the Presidents Cup twice and Finchem paid tribute to Royal Melbourne&aposs contribution to the history of the event. “As we saw in 1998, Australia has some of the best golf fans and best courses in the world,” he said. “The selection of Royal Melbourne as the site of the next international Presidents Cup is affirmation of what the golf club has meant to the history of The Cup.” Ben Sellenger, Chief Executive Officer, PGA Tour of Australasia added, “We are obviously delighted that The Presidents Cup will be returning to Australia in 2011 and certain that Royal Melbourne will once again be an outstanding venue for the world&aposs best players.” “The excitement and anticipation for this event will build exponentially over the next four years, and the PGA Tour of Australasia looks forward to supporting the return of The Presidents Cup in 2011.” Club Captain Peter Sutherland was equally as eager to hear the news. “Royal Melbourne is both pleased and excited to have been awarded the 2011 Presidents Cup,” he said “Having hosted the event in 1998, we believe it will once again be an outstanding venue for what has now become a much bigger and internationally recognised competition. We are proud that Australia has a number of golf clubs which would well have staged The Presidents Cup, and look forward to welcoming the players, their families, guests of the TOUR and fans in 2011.” The Presidents Cup is an international teams match play event featuring 24 of the world&aposs best golfers from the United States and around the world, excluding Europeans. It is staged every two years and alternates between American and international venues. It was introduced in 1994 to give the world&aposs best non-European players an opportunity to compete in a high quality international match play competition. The American team has won four of the six Cups with the International Team&aposs sole victory coming at Royal Melbourne in 1998. The 2003 Presidents Cup ended in a tie. The 2007 Presidents Cup is underway at Royal Montreal Golf Club in Canada while Harding Park Golf Course in San Francisco has been announced as host venue for the 2009 Cup. See for further information.