Date: October 30, 2017
Author: Christian Puccini

SA Country Men�s Team defeated Victoria

The Men's South Australian Country team has defeated the Victorian Country team for the second year in a row in the annual interstate match played at Hamilton Golf Club over the weekend 28-29 October.

The eight man teams competed in the multi-formatted event which sees foursomes matches played on the opening Saturday morning, four-ball best ball matches in the afternoon and individual match play to conclude on Sunday morning.

This year's match was once again a tight affair throughout but SA took the honours on day one leading 5½ matches to 2½ heading into the final day’s singles.

Players encountered 30 knot winds on day two and when the Victorians won the first three singles of the day the overall contest was all square.

Mount Gambier’s Anthony Williams playing at number five won 5&4 to put SA back ahead by one and then when Pinnaroo’s Tim Atze won 2/1 SA went 2up with three matches still on course.

Maitland’s Nathan Ramsey and Midlands Craig Boucher couldn’t be separated and squared the number four contest which put SA in the box seated two up with two to play. SA Country Champion Jak Carter from Links Lady Bay remained focused and drove the nail in the coffin to win 4&3 at number one to secure the victory for SA.

Victoria pegged one back with Chris Tomlinson defeating Ryan Wheeler 1up but it was all too late with SA winning the contest 9-7 and claiming its second title since 2007.

This year's match was once again played in great spirit, with Hamilton Golf Club also to be acknowledged as wonderful hosts once again.

The South Australian country team consisted of Captain Daryl Morgan (Mt Gambier), Jackson Arthur (Kadina), Tim Atze (Pinnaroo), Jak Carter (Links Lady Bay), James Norcock (Naracoorte), Nathan Ramsey (Maitland), Ryan Wheeler (Kadina) and Anthony Williams (Blue Lake)

The team was managed by SA Golf Hall of Fame Member Peter Howard and Golf SA Board Member Bill Klaebe.

The Victorian Country team consisted of Captain Simon Goggin (Hamilton), Craig Boucher (Midlands), Hamish Huffadine (Timboon), Shane Grover (Nhilll), Caleb Perry (Warrnambool), Levi Schlater (Sale), Troy Tainton (13th Beach) and Chris Tomlinson (Cobram Barooga).

The Victorian team was managed by Western District Men’s Secretary, John Snowden and Graeme Rentsch.

The match has been played since 1989, annually alternating between Victoria and South Australia and provides a high standard match for the leading country players from both states.

The annual match will return to be hosted in South Australia in 2018.

Click here for results