Date: August 21, 2017
Author: Christian Puccini

SA Foursomes Champions crowned

Jack Tanner and Will Somerfield have taken out the SA Men's Foursomes Championship, while Mount Osmond duo, Nayoung Ku and Sarah Jung have claimed the SA Women's Foursomes Championship.

Hosted by the Flagstaff Hill Golf Club on Sunday 21 August, the 38 pairs braved the cold and windy playing conditions with rain setting in towards the end of the afternoon.

The championship was revised this year from the traditional 36 holes to an 18 hole event and with the player numbers doubling, it proved to be a popular decision.

In the Women’s Championship, junior Nayoung Ku and Sarah Jung both from Mt Osmond carded a round of 85 to win by one stroke ahead of Blackwood’s Lorry Brown and Gale Macpherson.

Best Nett was won by Sally Graham and Karen Brien from Blackwood on nett 81.5

After 18 holes in the men’s event, Tanner from Glenelg and Somerfield from Kooyonga were tied with Royal Adelaide’s Alex Pacifico and Billy Cawthorne after both pairs fired a 4-over round of 76.

After both made par on the first playoff hole, Tanner and Somerfield held their nerve to claim victory on the next hole, the 8th to secure the Foursomes Championship. 

Third place on countback went to Jai Brown (Flagstaff Hill) & Will Arnold (Royal Adelaide) on +5 (77), while Best Nett (73) was won by locals Aaron Shephard and Mark Hopf.

For all scores, CLICK HERE to visit the Championship event page.