Date: October 29, 2018
Author: Christian Puccini

SA Golf Industry Awards Night – Winners List

The achievements of the South Australian Golf Industry have been celebrated with 200 golfing representatives from around the state at the South Australian Golf Industry Awards Night held at The Playford on the evening of Saturday 27 October.

The Master of Ceremonies for the night was Ben Hook with Wayne Phillips conducting interviews with the awards winners.

Special guests of the night included SA Golf Hall of Fame Members, David Cherry, John Crosby, Bob Tuohy and Sue Tuohy representing her mother Rhonda Watson along with Golf Australia Board Members Robert Crosby and Sarah Chia.

In total 17 trophies were presented as part of the SA Industry Awards Night, which covered industry specific awards from Golf SA, PGA of Australia, Golf Management Australia and the Australian Golf Course Superintendents Association as well as awards for volunteer contributions to the game from both Metropolitan and Country areas.

Amongst the highlights of the Awards evening was the presentation of the Award for Service to the South Australian Golf Industry. This award was presented to Pete Ormsby who has made an outstanding contribution to golf specifically in regard to the development of golf across the state as a player, teacher and retailer. Pete received a standing ovation when accepting the award.

The full list of award recipients is:

* Golf SA Junior Boy's Vardon – Frank Vucic (Glenelg) – winners blurb

* Golf SA Women's Vardon – Jin-young Yun (The Grange) – winners blurb

* Golf SA Men's Vardon –Jack Thompson (The Grange) – winners blurb

* PGA Graduate – Emma Ash (Thaxted Park) – winners blurb

* PGA Ladbrokes Pro Am of the Year (Legends) – Air Diffusion Agencies Legends Pro Am The Vines – winners blurb

* PGA Ladbrokes Pro Am of the Year – Blitz Golf – winner blurb

* PGA Development Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Golf Car Solutions) – Daniel Blackwell (Kooyonga) – winners blurb

* PGA Management Professional of the Year – Christopher Longbottom (South Lakes) winners blurb

* PGA Coach of the Year – Gareth Jones (Glenelg) – winners blurb

* PGA Club Professional of the Year Award (Sponsored by CCA) – Craig Davis (Mount Gambier) – winners blurb

* Service to the SA Golf Industry – Pete Ormsby (presented by Hall of Fame member David Cherry) – winners blurb

* SAGCSA Graduate Award (Sponsored by Toro) – Thomas Schott (The Grange) – winners blurb

* SAGCSA Award for Excellence in Turf Management (Sponsored by SACGSA) – Andrew Blacker (Port Lincoln) – winners blurb

* MyGolf Deliverer of the Year Award (Sponsored by MiClub) – Anne-Marie Knight (West Beach Parks Golf) – winners blurb

* Country Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Programmed Property Services) – Cyril Thompson (Port Lincoln Golf Club) – winners blurb

* Metropolitan Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by BGC Industrial Cleaning Supplies) – John Ward (The Vines) – winners blurb

* GMA Workplace Health & Safety Award (Sponsored by Risk Management Essentials) – Glenelg Golf Club – winners blurb

* GMA Award for Excellence in Golf Club Management (Sponsored by Schweppes) – Adam Hays (Thaxted Park Golf Club) – winners blurb

> Photos available shortly