Date: January 15, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

SA Jnr Champs – Rebecca Kay & Anthony Murdaca

SA Junior Amateur Champions – Rebecca Kay & Anthony Murdaca Golf SA Junior Amateur Championship Mon 7th – Wed 10th January Anthony Murdaca (Grange GC) & Rebecca Kay (Coolangatta – Qld) have been crowned 2013 SA Junior Amateur Champions. Due to the extreme hot weather conditions, the 3 day event was reduced from 72 holes to 54 holes with only 18 holes being played in the morning at Kooyonga on day one. Firing a 4 under round of 68, Murdaca had the low score at Kooyonga to lead Tom Couling (Commonwealth – VIC) by 2 strokes. With the low round at Kooyonga, Murdaca claimed the Kooyonga Summer Cup. On Tuesday at The Grange, played in perfect conditions on the West Course, Couling shot a magnificent 3-under 69, to lead the event with one round to play. Josh Hayes (Glenelg) with rounds of 71 & 72 (143) was in equal second with Murdaca who shot a second round of 75. In the final round at the Glenelg Golf Club, Murdaca used his vast experience to shoot the low round of the day (2-over 73) to finish with a 54 hole total of 216, 2 strokes ahead of Couling who closed with a 79. Luke Morrison from St Michaels, finished third on 223 with rounds of 73, 74, 76. Ben Tucker off a handicap of 4 was Best Net with rounds of 73, 77, 77 (Net 215). In the Girl&aposs Championship, Rebecca Kay (Coolangatta – Qld) performed consistently over the tournament to finish 8-over par with rounds of 75, 78, 75 (228) to claim the title by one stroke ahead of Glenelg s Jenny Lee 76, 78, 75 (229). Kristalle Blum (The Grange) who held a two stroke lead after 36 holes finished third on 232 (78, 73, 81). Blum (HCap 4) was awarded the Net Prize with a 54 total of 220. In the Girl&aposs B Grade Cup (Stableford), Taylah Cooper (Flagstaff Hill) 93 points claimed victory ahead of Alyssa Sedunary (The Grange) 89 points. And in the Junior Girls Stableford event Caitlin Woods (Clare) was victorious with scores of 28 & 33 (61pts). For all scores, CLICK HERE to visit the Championship event page.