Date: January 17, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

SA Juniors win Cudmore Cheney & Border Challenge

The victorious South Australian Team 13th – 16th January 2013 Played at Kingston Golf Club, South Australia South Australia&aposs junior representatives have started 2013 in fine style, defeating Victoria in the annual Boy&aposs Border Challenge and Girl&aposs Cudmore Cheney Challenge. Played at the Kingston Golf Club in the South East, the SA girls side stunned Victoria with a 6.5 – 2.5 victory in the Girls Challenge, while the combined Boy&aposs Metropolitan and Country side convincingly defeating the Victorian s 26.5 matches v 9.5 matches. The 12 member Boys s Team featured 6 State Junior Development players selected from SA s 22 Metropolitan Clubs who played against the Vic Metro outfit, and 6 Boys from the 127 SA Country Clubs who competed against their Victorian equivalents. Player handicaps ranged from plus 1 (Jordan Bishop) to 6 (Jason Holloway), with the age of the players ranging from 13yrs – 17yrs. The SA Girls Cudmore Cheney side, featured 6 players from Metro and Country areas, with handicaps ranging from 5 (Ella Adams & Cassidy Evreniadis) to 14 (Alicia Smith). The player s age ranged from 13yrs – 17yrs. On Day 1, the girls competed in the Audrey McLaren Trophy, an 18 hole individual stableford event, with Samantha Steven s (HCap 13) from Wirrabara, the best of the 12 players, claiming victory for SA with 38 points. On Day 2, in the Cudmore Cheney Challenge, South Australia held an early advantage after the Foursomes Matchplay, winning 3 games to nil. The SA pairing of Matilda Wheare and Alicia Smith were the most impressive winning their contest 6&4. In the singles matches on Day 3, SA claimed three of the six matches courtesy of hard fought victories to Ella Adams, Caillin Lakin and Alicia Smith. Whilst Matilda Wheare halved her match with Kallista Do. Since the inception of the Cudmore Cheney Challenge in 1967, Victoria has recorded 21 victories, now only one ahead of SA on 20. There have been 6 ties. In the Boy&aposs competition, played over a 54 Hole Dunhill Cup format, SA Metro overcame its Victorian counterpart 12 – 6. In the Dunhill Cup format, players play a Stroke round, with the player having the lowest gross score over 18 holes of a match, against the opposing state player, deemed the winner of that game for his respective State. For Metro, Andrew Nakone (Grange) was the best performed player with 2 wins and a half, while Patric Kroshel (Royal Adelaide), Jack Hynes (Glenelg), Will Starkey (Glenelg) and Joseph Hodgson (Kooyonga) all secured 2 valuable wins from 3 matches. Jordan Bishop (Kooyonga) took the honours for lowest round of the week for Metro players when carding a 73 in round three. In the Country Section, The SA Boys produced an emphatic 14.5 v 3.5 victory. Josh Hayes (McCracken), Billy Cawthorne (Echunga) and Joel Durnford (Wirrabara) were triumphant in all three of their respective matches. Durnford was also undefeated last year. Josh Hayes carded the lowest round of the week with an impressive 71 in round two which he then repeated in round three. Overall, the SA Boys team were victorious 26.5 matches v 9.5 matches and have now won the past two series after the Victorians won the previous 8 consecutive contests. Click here for full results sheets: Girls Cudmore Cheney Challenge Boy&aposs Border Challenge Teams Girls Cudmore Cheney * Cassidy Evreniadis (Grange) * Ella Adams (Grange) * Caillin Lakin (McCracken) * Matilda Wheare (Ardrossan) * Samantha Stevens (Wirrabara) * Alicia Smith (Grange) * Res: Emma Sutton (non travelling) Boy&aposs Metropolitan * Jordan Bishop ( Kooyonga) * Patric Kroschel (Royal Adelaide) * Jack Hynes (Glenelg) * Andrew Nakone (Grange) * Joseph Hodgson (Kooyonga) * Wil Starkey (Glenelg) * Res: Bradley Andrew (non travelling) Boy&aposs Country * Joshua Hayes (McCracken) * Joel Durnford (Wirrabara) * Lachlan Barker (Willunga) * Billy Cawthorne (Echunga) * Ben Tucker (Robe) * Jason Holloway (Kingston SE)