Date: April 04, 2012

SA name State Teams for Australian Interstate Series

Greg Blewett in action for Tea Tree Gully in the 2011 Golf SA Pennant Final Golf SA has announced its state sides to contest this year&aposs Australian Interstate Teams Matches, played in Adelaide from 1 – 4 May 2012. Tom Bond (The Grange) and Megan Bleeze (Royal Adelaide) have the honour of captaining the respective men&aposs and women&aposs teams, both of whom will be blooding talented new players. 17 year old State Amateur Champion Jack Williams (The Grange) and Tim Baker (Kooyonga) are the debutantes, along with former Australian Cricketer, Greg Blewett, who holds membership at both Kooyonga and Tea Tree Gully Golf Clubs. Blewett represented Australia in 46 Test Matches and South Australia over a 15 year career. He brings immeasurable experience to the side. Brad Moules (Royal Adelaide), Daniel Speirs (Kooyonga), Anthony Murdaca and Chris Brown (The Grange) complete the team which will be looking to improve on last year s fourth place in Perth. In the women&aposs side, 2012 SA Stroke Play Medallist Caitlin Roberts (Royal Adelaide) returns, along with Rachel Taylor (Mt Osmond) and Amy Zhou (Kooyonga). Junior state team members Kristalle Blum (The Grange) and Elysia Yap (Glenelg) will be making their senior state debuts. The Women’s team will be eager to improve on last year s fifth placing. The full Men&aposs & Women&aposs representative squads are as follows: Men Tom Bond – (Capt – The Grange) Tim Baker (Kooyonga) Greg Blewett (Kooyonga) Chris Brown (The Grange) Brad Moules (Royal Adelaide) Anthony Murdaca (The Grange) Daniel Speirs (Kooyonga) Jack Williams (The Grange) Gareth Jones (Coach) Mr Robert Crosby (Team Manager) Women Megan Bleeze (Capt – Royal Adelaide) Kristalle Blum (The Grange) Caitlin Roberts (Royal Adelaide) Rachel Taylor (Mount Osmond) Elysia Yap (Glenelg) Amy Zhou (Kooyonga) Jamie Clutterham (Coach) Mrs Deb Christie (Team Manager) 2012 will see the second year of a Final between those teams finishing one and two following five rounds of singles match play. The Women&aposs Championship will continue to have the top six women from each State competing for the oldest Australian amateur golf team trophy, The Gladys Hay Memorial Trophy on an extended West Lakes Golf Club layout. The Men&aposs Championship will continue to have the top eight men from each State competing for the title. The Men&aposs Championship will be hosted by The Royal Adelaide Golf Club. With South Australia not having hosted the event since 2006, Adelaide is sure to witness some exciting golf. For more details on the 2012 Australian Men&aposs and Women&aposs Interstate Teams Matches, click on the following links to visit the Golf Australia website. Men Women