Date: August 23, 2012
Author: Christian Puccini

SA Vardon Trophy Winners declared

2011 Winners, Caitlin Roberts, Anthony Murdaca & Brad Moules presented their trophies by Hon. Carmel Zollo (representing the Minister for Sport) at the 2011 SA Golf Industry Awards Night The 2012 Golf SA Vardon Trophy Winners have been announced. The 2012 Men’s& Women’s Vardon Series included 13 Club Vardons, the State Amateur Championships and the State National Ranking event while the 2012 Junior Boy s Vardon Series included 10 Club Vardons, 3 Golf SA Junior Opens, the State Junior Amateur Championships and the State National Junior Ranking event. The Winner of the Women’s trophy for the second year in a row is Caitlin Roberts from Royal Adelaide GC with a stroke average of 74.63 from 26 rounds with wins at West Lakes and Gawler. Her average was an improvement on last year s 75.85 over 29 rounds. Brad Moules from Royal Adelaide GC is the Men’swinner with an average of 69.88 from 24 rounds. Moules who claimed the 2011 title jointly with Tom Bond (both averaging 69.81 over 29 rounds), was victorious at the Royal Adelaide Vardon where he set the course alight with a second round 65, which included 9 birdies. Moules who is accepting a PGA Traineeship at Royal Adelaide, ends his Amateur career on a high. For the third year in a row the Junior Boys Vardon Trophy has gone to Anthony Murdaca (The Grange GC). Anthony finished the season with an average of 70.07 from 14 rounds. He was granted the maximum 8 credits for missing events due to representative duties therefore meets the minimum criteria of 22 rounds played to be eligible. Anthony was away during the SA Junior Amateur Vardon rounds whilst competing in the Master of the Amateurs Tournament in Victoria and missed the Junior Open at Kooyonga & Grange whilst part of the SA Team at the Australian Amateur. He also missed the final Vardon of the year due to Golf Australia commitments at the British Boys Amateur Championships. Anthony has steadily improved over the past four years averaging 74.15 in 2009, 72.43 in 2010, 71.78 in 2011 and 70.07 in 2012. Please click here for final Vardon Trophy Tables and all minor placegetters. Background: In 1974 the South Australian Golf Association Inc (SAGA) introduced the Vardon competition with the winner being decided on averages calculated over a number of events. A Junior Boys Vardon has been running since 1981. Women’s Golf South Australia (WGSA) introduced its Vardon series in 1976 and was based on a points system. The Vardon is ranked as one of the most prestigious golf competitions in the State. The formation of Golf SA in 2008 has seen the Vardon revised and merged into a single competition based on the same conditions of play from the 2009 season. The event is named after Harry Vardon who in the annals of golf is considered one of the greats of the game.