Date: November 13, 2013

Sallyanne cleans up at this year�s Vic Spring Country Tournament

Final Round – Sallyanne cleans up at this year’s Victorian Spring Country Tournament

Shepparton Golf Club was host to the second and final round of 2013 Victorian Spring Country Tournament. The 18-hole Sam Berriman Championship design was presented to players in brilliant condition and proved to be quite the test of skill with its deep bunkering and undulating tree-lined fairways.   
Players were fortunate to have more favourable weather than yesterday as the steady rain was exchanged for more pleasant, but less than perfect, overcast and breezy conditions. 
Sallyanne Eaton has warded off her challenges to win the 2013 Victorian Spring Country Tournament. Starting the day three shots in deficit to the round one leaders, the Ballarat member was able to accompany her 81 yesterday with a 79 today for a 160 tournament total. 
The 9 marker was unfazed by the challenging conditions endured on the first day and the pressure packed final round, as she notched out former winner and Yarrawonga member Judy Langford by a single shot to have her name etched on the Ruby McKenzie trophy for the first time. 
Johanna Wyllie from Tambo Valley sat two shots behind the champion to round out the top three.  
In what has only been achieved a handful of times in the tournaments history, Eaton also finished at the top of the leader board in the handicap section to take out the Vi Teesdale trophy and become one of only a select few to win both trophies in the same year. After shooting a level par 72 at Hill Top, she closed with the low round of the day 70, to edge out Shepparton’s very own Margie Sneyd by a comfortable five shots. 
The 2014 tournament will move to the sensational Mornington Peninsula where it will be played over the Sorrento and Portsea Golf Clubs on Monday 27th and Tuesday 28th of October. 
Golf Victoria wishes to extend its sincere thanks to Hill Top and Shepparton Golf Clubs and their volunteers for the enthusiasm and support in this year’s Victorian Spring Country Tournament. 
Divisional results and a full list of trophy winners can be accessed by clicking here.  

Round 1 – Langford and Odgers tied at the top

Each year Golf Victoria conducts two Country Tournaments across regional Victoria in both Autumn and Spring. Conditions were less than ideal as year’s Spring event teed off today at Hill Top Golf Club in wet and showery weather. Players were eventually reprieved of the cool misty rain by late morning but the unsavoury conditions made another appearance later in the day.

The course itself was presented in superb condition, and remained relatively firm considering the recent rain over the past couple days.  
Following the opening round, Wodonga compatriots Judy Langford and Catherine Odgers find themselves tied at the top of the leader board after rounds of 78 against a par of 72. 
After winning her third consecutive Victorian Par 3 title earlier this year, Odgers will be eager to add the Ruby McKenzie trophy to her cabinet. Odgers also claimed victory at this year’s Country Championships by etching her name on the Marion Dwyer and Betty Kernot trophy’s.    
However, the 2012 Country Champion Judy Langford will be applying the pressure to the inform Odgers on the Sam Berriman Shepparton layout come tomorrow afternoon.  
Kooringal’s Heather Harley will be hoping to make up some ground after shooting 80 this morning to be placed just two shots behind the joint leaders and within striking distance. Sallyanne Eaton and Johanna Wyllie are next best a further shot back. 
Of the 125 eager players that took to the course today only two managed to better their handicap. Joan Fraser (Beaufort) is leading the way in the nett sector after the 16 marker carded a 70 in the afternoon field. Close at the leaders heels, and trailing by a mere shot, is Rich River’s Colleen Armstrong following a round of 71 of a handicap of 16. A cluster of five players sit two strokes behind Fraser.   
Players will move to Shepparton Golf Club tonight for the Tournament Dinner and then contest the second and final round tomorrow.
Click here for Round 1 Results