Date: September 24, 2014
Author: Jack Newton Junior Golf

School Sport ACT 12 and Under Golf Championships 2014

School Sport ACT held a very successful Golf Championship on Thursday 18 September 2014 at Belconnen Magpies Golf Club. Congratulations to Chris Jones, SSACT Golf Coordinator for his efforts in organising the event. We also acknowledge the very warm welcome and generosity of Belconnen Magpies Golf Club and staff. As with many sporting events there is a heavy reliance on volunteer support and this years' Championship was no exception.

With a significant increase in number of participants this year, the need for volunteer support was vital and very much appreciated. An official escorted each group and was able to provide guidance and encouragement for the players. Parents were also involved in walking the course and many took the opportunity to encourage the children in this way. Official assistance was provided by:

Members of the ACT Monaro District Golf Association,
Members of the Central Southern Golf Association,
Members of the Belconnen Magpies Golf Club,
Jack Newton Junior Golf,
Erindale College Year 11 students, and
Primary School and College teachers.

Statistically, this year there was a 12% increase in the number of girls and a 105% increase in the number of boys participating.  Nine girls and 37 boys participated.  Of these, three girls and eight boys had handicaps. All other participants had been involved in golf either through clinics at golf clubs or playing golf with their parents. All had their own set of golf clubs.

The event included 18 holes stroke for the players with handicaps.  Nine holes were played by the non-handicap competitors, with results determined by the Callaway System. JNJG sponsored the prizes for the event.

The ACT Schools represented in the event were:

Alfred Deakin, Canberra Girls Grammar, Emmaus, Evatt Primary, Fadden Primary, Fraser Primary, Garran Primary, Holy Spirit, Kaleen Primary, Kingsford-Smith, Macquarie Primary, Marist, Miles Franklin, Monash Primary, Mother Theresa, St. Bedes, St. Benedicts, St. Johns, St. Matthews, St. Monicas, Telopea, and Yarralumla Primary.

Details of the prize winners can be found at: