Date: July 16, 2019
Author: Justin Falconer at Royal Portrush

Scott draws stars as tee times released

The tee times for The Open at Royal Portrush have been released and Australian golf fans will need to be patient on Thursday afternoon.

Adam Scott will be the first Australian on course at 9:58am local time (6:58 pm AEST) on Thursday, more than three hours after The 148th Open gets underway.

World No.16 Scott has the honour of playing with the defending champion, Italian Francesco Molinari, as well as American Bryson Dechambeau.

New South Welshman Dimi Papadatos begins his major career at 11:58am local time (8:58pm AEST), with American Joel Dahmen and Spaniard Adri Arnaus for company.

Fellow major championship debutant Jake McLeod is two groups further back at 12:20pm (9:20pm AEST). The 24-year-old Queenslander has been grouped with fellow European Tour pros and familiar faces Erik Van Rooyen and Kurt Kitayama.

Then, Victorian Marc Leishman will be flanked by Masters champions Jordan Spieth and Danny Willett in the 1:26 pm (10:26pm AEST) grouping.

The group off the 1st straight after at 1:37pm (10:37pm AEST) will be led by Leishman’s close mate Cam Smith, the Queenslander playing alongside Canadian Adam Hadwin and the USA’s David Lipsky for the first two days.

And the last Australian on course will be 2015 US PGA champ Jason Day.

The Queenslander will tee off alongside Americans Dustin Johnson and Keegan Bradley at 2:59pm local time (11:59pm AEST) among a cluster of stars in the afternoon including Tiger Woods, Justin Rose, Jon Rahm and Patrick Reed.

All Thursday and Friday tee times can be found found here.



Watch every round live and on demand on Kayo. Click here for a 14 day free trial.

– Thu 18 July: Round 1 – 3:30pm – 5:00am
– Fri 19 July: Round 2 – 3:30pm – 5:00am
– Sat 20 July: Round 3 – 7:00pm – 5:00am
– Sun 21 July: Final round – 6:00pm – 4:00am

Coverage is also available on Fox Sports Ch. 505.


Follow all the Aussies' fortunes online at and, for instant coverage, via our Twitter feed at throughout the week.

The official tournament website is and its social media channels include: