Date: February 29, 2008
Author: Sportal

Scott scorches in Delhi

World No. 5 Adam Scott has fired a four-under par 68 to join a host of Australians only one stroke behind the leaders after the opening round of the Johnnie Walker Classic in Delhi. Scott, who won the event in 2005, was joined at four-under by compatriots Greg Chalmers, Unho Park and Paul Sheehan breathing down the neck of the two unheralded players at the top of the leader board. India&aposs Shamim Khan and Argentinean Daniel Vancsik lead the field after both shooting impressive five-under par rounds of 67. Vancsik made an eagle at his final hole of the day, the ninth, to move to five-under after a round that also included five birdies and two bogeys and he was joined on that mark later by Khan, who made the fifth birdie of a bogey-free round on his final hole. Scott was handily placed at five-under with three holes to play when he dropped his only strokes of the day after putting his tee shot at the par-three 16th into the water. However, the Australian recovered with a birdie at the 17th which put him into a tie for third place with Singh and nine other golfers. “I&aposm very pleased with how I played today,” Scott said. “I played very well and had one poor shot, but I don&apost think that it really spoilt the round. “I am in a really good position. It is pretty bunched up at the top and I think it will spread out.” Local favourite Jeev Milkha Singh remains in the chasing pack at four-under par after blowing away an early lead with bogeys on two of his last three holes. World No. 11 Vijay Singh is within striking distance of the leaders after making three birdies on his back nine to finish his opening round on a two-under 70 while Colin Montgomerie is at two over after an up-and-down round that featured two birdies and four bogeys. First Round of the Johnnie Walker Classic, New Delhi, India -5 Daniel Vancsik 67, Shamim Khan 67 -4 Rahil Gangjee 68, Jeev Milkha Singh 68, Robert Jan Derksen 68, Adam Scott (Australia) 68, Greg Chalmers (Australia) 68, Unho Park (Australia) 68, Jason Knutzon 68, Taichiro Kiyota 68, Mark Foster 68, James Kamte 68, Paul Sheehan (Australia) 68 -3 Shiv Kapur 69, Arjun Singh 69, Soren Hansen 69, Anthony Summers (Australia) 69, Jose Manuel Lara 69, Adam Bland (Australia) 69, Hendrik Buhrmann 69, Arjun Atwal 69, Wen-chong Liang 69, Adam Blyth (Australia) 69 also: -2 James Nitties (Australia), Won Joon Lee (Australia), Michael Long (New Zealand), -1 Scott Strange (Australia), Peter Senior (Australia), Tony Carolan (Australia), Scott Barr (Australia), Mark Brown (New Zealand), Marcus Fraser (Australia) E Matthew Millar (Australia), Andrew Tampion (Australia), Marc Leishman (Australia), Scott Laycock (Australia), Peter O&aposMalley (Australia) +1 Richard Lee (New Zealand), Gavin Flint (Australia), +2 Steven Bowditch (Australia), Terry Pilkadaris (Australia), Adam Groom (Australia), Gary Simpson (Australia), David Bransdon (Australia), Michael Curtain (Australia), +3 Steven Jeffress (Australia), +4 Terry Price (Australia) +5 David Smail (New Zealand), Ewan Porter (Australia), Peter Fowler (Australia) +7 Scott Hend (Australia)