Date: January 05, 2014
Author: Reuters

Scott wins Golf Writers Player of Year award

courtesy: Reuters U.S Masters champion Adam Scott edged out world number one Tiger Woods as Player of the Year in voting by the Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA) it has been announced. The Australian beat Woods by five votes while Inbee Parj of South Korea landed the female accolade and Kenny Perry took senior player honours. “It is an honour to be recognised as the most consistent male golfer of 2013,” Scott said in a news release during the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Hawaii. Scott, 33, became the first Australian to win the Masters in April and also claimed a FedExCup playoff victory in August. His two PGA Tour wins in 2013 lagged behind the five won by Woods, a total that earned the 14-times major champion PGA Tour Player of the Year honours with his colleagues and the PGA of America. World number two Scott also ended the season by winning the Australian PGA and the Australian Masters, teamed up with Jason Day to land the team event at the World Cup and was second in the Australian Open. The 25-year-old Park scripted one of the most compelling golf stories in 2013 by stringing together victories in the season&aposs first three majors – the Kraft Nabisco Championship, the LPGA Championship and the U.S. Women&aposs Open. She notched six wins in the season and the money-list title. “Last year was a year that I could never forget,” said Park who finished well ahead of Stacy Lewis in the voting. “I was able to put my name among the greatest players around the world.” Perry, 53, had three wins on the Champions Tour, two of them majors, as he beat Germany&aposs Bernhard Langer to the player of the year award.