Date: September 01, 2017
Author: Christian Puccini

Seigmund and Denton win SA Primary Schools State Final

The SA Primary Schools State Golf Championship was held at Adelaide Shores on 31 August – 1 September.

The road to the Championship final, saw Golf SA holding skills session across the state for close to 1,000 students, which lead to eight Metropolitan and eight Country Qualifying events from mid-June through to early August, with approximately 270 primary school students taking part.

In total 147 primary school students (116 boys and 31 girls) qualified through to the first day of the State Final at Adelaide Shores with half the students playing off in the Country Event and the other half competing in the Metropolitan Event on the Executive Course at Adelaide Shores.

Winner of the Boys Metropolitan Event was: Nicholas Seigmund (Oceanview) gross 55

Winner of the Boys Country Event was: Charlie Nobbs (Victor Harbor PS) gross 60

Winner of the Girls Metro Event was: Raegan Denton (Fulham North) gross 63

Winner of the Girls Country Event was: Armani Marsters (St Josephs – Murray Bridge) gross 64

After results from day one were tabled, 32 boys (cut was 75 or better) and 11 girls (cut of 78 or better) progressed through to the State Championship on Fri 1 September on the Par 72 Course at Adelaide Shores, with a Golf SA Invitational event held for the remaining 68 players.

Winner of the Boys Primary Schools Golf State Championship was Nicholas Seigmund (Oceanview) gross 77

Winner of the Girls Primary Schools Golf State Championship was Raegan Denton (Fulham North) gross 100

> Event Photo Gallery

The championships were used as the selection process for the SAPSASA team to play in the School Sport Australia 12 and Under Golf Championship from 4 – 8 December in Adelaide in conjunction with the Pacific School Games.

The Boys & Girls Teams are as follows:         

Charlie Nobbs
Billy Martin
Hudson Brown
Joel Bryant
Archer Charles
Mitchell Angel
Josh Grundel
Mitchell Kingston

Raegan Denton
Armani Marsters
Rebekka Stutley
Zoe Manton

For all scores CLICK HERE to visit the Championship event page.