Date: December 03, 2015
Author: Golf Victoria

Seniors Gather to celebrate 2015

One hundred & eight senior golfers converged on the beautiful Sorrento GC for round one of the traditional first event of the 2016 calendar the Sorrento Senior Amateur. The annual event also coincides with the Victorian Senior Order of Merit presentation dinner for the current year, where both the Doug Bachli & Paul Lulofs trophies are awarded.

The Doug Bachli Trophy & Paul Lulofs Trophy are awarded to the player that accrues the highest total of points for gross and nett performances respectively in designated Victorian Senior events through the course of the year.

The Doug Bachli Trophy Is named in memory of the late Doug Bachli, who in 1954 famously came from behind at Muirfield to upstage American Walker Cup player Bill Campbell, to become the first Australian to win the British Amateur championship. Bachli represented his club, state and country in multiple events throughout his amateur career and was also named in the VGA Team of the Century in 2002. Golf Victoria express great thanks to Doug’s wife Dorothy and children Michelle, Simon, Mark and Paul for their support in naming this pinnacle trophy for Senior Golfers.

The Paul Lulofs Trophy is named in honour of Paul Lulofs. Paul was a passionate golfer who worked tirelessly over many years to promote the sport, especially senior’s golf. Lulofs was the Victorian Caddies Champion in 1957, and enjoyed success at club, state and national level. He was a founding father of Australian Seniors Golf, and started the Victorian Senior Advisory Group (SAG).

The 2015 Doug Bachli trophy winner is Ian Frost from Bendigo. Frost had a phenomenal year, with a total of five wins including the first & last events of the year the Sorrento Senior Amateur & the Moyne Senior Classic.

Frost was also a part of the all-conquering Victorian Senior Amateur Team who won the Australian Senior Amateur interstate team’s event whilst also enjoying further national success winning both the Queensland Senior Amateur & the South Australian Senior Amateur to cap off a fantastic year. Jeff Hasthorpe of Trafalgar was the Doug Bachli 65+ champion.

The Paul Lulofs Trophy was won by Ignatius Duivenvoorden, who has successfully defended the title for a fifth year in a row. The Yarram member had a consistent year of golf, with two wins at the Yarra Yarra & Warragul Senior Amateurs the highlight. The Paul Lulofs 65+ Trophy was won by Stan Davis of Bendigo, whose year was highlighted with a win at the Alpine Senior Masters.

Meanwhile, today’s first round of the Sorrento Senior Amateur produced some fine golf to start the 2016 calendar. In the nett event, Royal Melbourne’s Steve Lilley leads the field after a fine opening round nett score of 68 from a daily handicap of 11. Colac’s Greg Welsh, The National’s John Hodson & Royal Melbourne’s Peter Vial all sit in second place after opening nett rounds of 69.

In the gross championship, a familiar face sits atop the leaderboard with 2014 Doug Bachli trophy winner Gordon Claney assuming the overnight lead after a round of 73. Spring Valley’s Gary Easte & Greg Welsh sit in second place after rounds of 74.

The final round gets underway tomorrow at 8:30am via a shotgun multi-tee start. To view first round results including the club teams championship & final round draw, click here.

To view full results of the 2015 Victorian Senior Order of Merit, click here.