Date: July 02, 2012

Simpson Cup Final – Tea Tree Gully v Kooyonga

Tea Tree Gully top order player Greg Blewett Metropolitan Pennant – Simpson Cup Round 7 summary Tea Tree Gully will be gunning for their third consecutive Simpson Cup, when they go head to head with Kooyonga for the metropolitan men&aposs pennant title, at Royal Adelaide Golf Club next Sunday. In yesterday&aposs final round, table leaders Tea Tree Gully held onto top position with a hard fought win against The Grange, Kooyonga overcame home side Glenelg, Highercombe finished its season on a positive note defeating winless Blackwood, while Flagstaff Hill finished in fourth place by defeating Royal Adelaide. In a do or die battle, defending champion Tea Tree Gully advanced to the final on the back of a close 4 – 3 victory over The Grange. Tension was high, with Crowder and Williams claiming early matches for The Grange, while White and Wyllie hit back for The Gullies. Steadying the ship, Captain, Chris Austin moving down the order to number three, defeated Alex Hendrick 1up, while Zak Fuller put the match beyond doubt accounting for Tom Bond 3&1. At number one Greg Blewett battled valiantly but proved no match for Grange s Chris Brown going down 4&3, with Brown finishing the season with 6 wins from 6 matches. Kooyonga secured a berth in the final with a 4.5 – 2.5 victory over Glenelg. Largely untroubled, Bishop, Hayes, Somerfield and Baker all had wins, with Geoff Brennan securing the half point. Glenelg finishes the season in 7th position well below expectation but with a new young side should challenge in 2013. Flagstaff Hill finishes the season 4th after its defeat of Royal Adelaide 4 – 3. Coulsen, Hiern, Ready and Roxby all secured wins, while Baulderstone, Overall and Moules were the winners for Royal Adelaide. In a tight contest, Highercombe defeated Blackwood 4 – 3 with Couzner, Husdell, Jaffer and the ever reliable Mark Deacon all finishing their Pennant campaign strongly with comfortable wins. Victory moved Highercombe to fifth on the ladder with 3 wins, an outstanding result. Next week&aposs Simpson Cup final is hosted by Royal Adelaide, with defending champions Tea Tree Gully looking to claim their third consecutive Simpson Cup title. Kooyonga, champions last in 2005 & 06, are looking for its 6th flag in 33 years, since winning 5 consecutive titles from 1974-78. For all results click here for the Pennant events page. Men’s- Pennant Event Page Men’sSimpson Cup – Final (8th July at Royal Adelaide) 5th Tee 11.00am Tea Tree Gully v Kooyonga Click here for Finals Schedule