Date: July 01, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Simpson Cup Final – The Grange v Kooyonga

The Grange middle order player Matthew Lisk Metropolitan Pennant – Simpson Cup Round 7 summary The Grange and Kooyonga will go head to head for the Metropolitan Men&aposs Pennant title, when the two team&aposs meet in the final of the Simpson Cup at Glenelg Golf Club on Sunday 7 July. In yesterday&aposs final round at Kooyonga, in a prelude to the final, The Grange proved too strong for Kooyonga finishing minor premier. Glenelg defeated Highercombe to finish third, Mt Lofty accounted for Royal Adelaide to finish sixth, while Tea Tree Gully ended the season in fourth position defeating Flagstaff Hill, who battled hard, but couldn’t avoid relegation. In their do or die battle, Grange advanced to the final on the back of a close 4.5 – 2.5 victory over Kooyonga. Tension was high, with Crowder claiming an early game for The Grange, before Will Somerfield hit back for Kooyonga. The Grange claimed its second and third games courtesy of Rudi DuPlooy and Matthew Lisk before Heath Riches kept Kooyonga in the contest defeating Anthony Murdaca 2&1. Jack Williams put his team through to the final and ended Glenelg s hopes, when he defeated Tim Baker 1up. The final game at number one between Chris Brown and Charles Shaw which was squared was all academic. In the tightest contest on of the day, Glenelg was pushed all the way by Highercombe eventually winning 4 – 3. Winners for Glenelg were Matt Overall, Anthony Olsen, Matt McGowan and Campbell Rawson. Finishing last season in 7th position, Glenelg on the cusp of a finals berth, must be pleased with third place. Likewise for Highercombe, a 5th place finish for the second year is a solid result. Royal Adelaide and Mt Lofty both came to play, with the winner guaranteed to avoid relegation. Mt Lofty managed to claim the win 4.5 – 2.5 thanks to Henshaw, Goers, Atze and Turnbull who all finished their Pennant campaign strongly with comfortable wins. In the other crucial match, Flagstaff Hill battled valiantly but just couldn’t get across the line against Tea Tree Gully going down 5.5 – 1.5. In one of the closest matches of the year, Tea Tree Gullies winners were Matt McMahon 1up, Chris Noon 4&3, Luke Steele 2&1, Greg Blewett 1up and Chris Austin 1up. Royal Adelaide would surely be thanking those players as courtesy of that result Royal Adelaide remain in the top division and Flagstaff Hill drop down to A2. Next week&aposs Simpson Cup final is hosted by Glenelg, with The Grange looking for its 22nd title and first flag since winning three in a row between 2007 – 2009. Kooyonga, champions from 2004 – 2006 , are gunning for its 32nd title. For all results click here for the Pennant Event Page Men’sSimpson Cup – Final (7th July at Glenelg) 1st Tee 11.00am The Grange v Kooyonga Click here for Finals Schedule