Date: May 27, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Simpson Cup Rd 3 – Kooyonga jumps to top of table

Kooyonga stalwart Heath Riches Kooyonga, Glenelg and Highercombe remain undefeated after three rounds of the Simpson Cup season. In what was billed as a close contest, Highercombe continued its superb form by narrowly defeating Mt Lofty 4 – 3. Mt Lofty jumped out to an early 3-1 lead winning three of four lower order matches. Kym Rivett at number seven, won 5&4 over Nathan Cockburn, Dylan Goers at number five, defeated Adam Husdell 3&1 and at number four, Phil Roberts accounted for Andrew Couzner 5&3. Scott Mills won Highercombe s first match at number 6 over David Henshaw 2&1 before Nick May at number 3, undefeated this season, had a solid win over Tim Atze. Mark Deacon squared the ledger with his 5&4 win over Ramon Thorne, before Ben Hallam under pressure claimed the match for Highercombe winning at number 1, over Ty Turnbull 3&2. The clash between Glenelg and Royal Adelaide sat at 2-2 early with Glenelg winning matches 5 and 6 courtesy of Anthony Olsen and Josh Hayes while Royal s wins came from Nathan Baulderstone at number 7 and Patric Kroschel at 4. Wins to Matt McGowan over Stephen Hudson and Lachlan Booth over Matt Lawson secured the victory for Glenelg, despite Louis Fuller fighting hard at number one for Royal Adelaide to secure its third point, by defeating Campbell Rawson 1up. For the third week in a row Kooyonga were largely unchallenged, in its 4.5 – 2.5 victory over Flagstaff Hill. Once again it was Kooyonga s middle order, positions three to six of Heath Riches, Daniel Speirs, Will Somerfield and Zak Fuller, who got the job done, convincing winners over Brad Stenner, Brad Manton, Dale Baker and Shane Cotton. Mark Hopf and Jacob Sewell had wins for Flagstaff Hill while the number one match between Charles Shaw and Scott Ready was squared. The clash between Tea Tree Gully and The Grange went to the death, with the experienced Chris Austin defeating Jack Williams 2&1 in the final match to keep Tea Tree Gully s season alive. Other winners for the Gullies were Zak Admunson 3&2, Zane Thomson 1up and Greg Blewett 6&5 over Justin Crowder, Ben Stowe and Anthony Murdaca respectively. The Grange s three games came from wins to Nick Cheary 4&2, Rudi Du Plooy 4&3 and Matt Lisk 5&4. Next week s round four matches are held at Flagstaff Hill with the home side looking for its first win, up against Highercombe. In other matches, Tea Tree Gully will be looking for consecutive wins when it plays Mt Lofty, while Grange looks to have the edge over Royal Adelaide. The winner of the match of the round between Glenelg and Kooyonga will be well placed to make it to the July 7 final. For the Pennant Competition page CLICK HERE For Simpson Cup Rd 3 Results CLICK HERE Round 4 (2nd June at Flagstaff Hill) 1st Tee 9.30 am Flagstaff Hill v Highercombe 1st Tee 10.25 am Tea Tree Gully v Mount Lofty 1st Tee 11.20 am Grange v Royal Adelaide 1st Tee 12.15 pm Glenelg v Kooyonga